The A2A Simulations Community

"Come share your passion for flight"
It is currently Tue Jul 17, 2018 12:27 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Where is the clock?
PostPosted: Tue Jul 05, 2016 2:18 pm 
Offline
Airman Basic

Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2016 2:16 pm
Posts: 5
Hi.

Is there any way to view an in game clock in the Piper Cub please?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Where is the clock?
PostPosted: Wed Jul 06, 2016 1:38 pm 
Offline
A2A Lieutenant Colonel
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 11:22 pm
Posts: 27720
Location: Beccles, Suffolk, UK
Hello, no clock in a J-3 so you will just have to use a wristwatch or phone :)

thanks,
Lewis

_________________
A2A Facebook for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Youtube because a video can say a thousand screenshots,..
A2A Simulations Twitter for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Simulations Community Discord for voice/text chat


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Where is the clock?
PostPosted: Wed Jul 06, 2016 2:12 pm 
Online
Senior Master Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2011 5:54 pm
Posts: 1803
Or you could use engine hours, if you just need a rough estimate of time spent flying....as part of the tachometer gauge, I think.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Where is the clock?
PostPosted: Wed Jul 06, 2016 3:24 pm 
Offline
Airman Basic

Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2016 2:16 pm
Posts: 5
Wristwatch or phone is no use as it won't take account of pausing or time acceleration.

The Cub's low tech equipment makes it perfect for practicing manual cross country navigation, and it even comes with a map, but without any way of tracking in game time, tis all for nought :(

Would you consider adding one?

Is it possible to add a third-party one to the virtual cockpit display?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Where is the clock?
PostPosted: Wed Jul 06, 2016 5:33 pm 
Offline
Senior Master Sergeant

Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2008 6:01 pm
Posts: 1789
Location: Devon,UK
Neutrino the cub did not have a battery and was flown by line of sight and feel.

If you insist on time compression then you have no chance of using a watch.I suggest you use real time,as you would have to in REAL life.

Use your watch and do the job properly.

Cheers chris


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Where is the clock?
PostPosted: Sun Jul 17, 2016 9:40 am 
Offline
Airman Basic

Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2016 2:16 pm
Posts: 5
Yes Speedy I know the Cub did not have a built in clock. But obviously no pilot would be stupid enough to take to the air without at least having a decent watch instead. Equally obviously a real life watch isn't much use for navigating in game since it won't sync with pausing the game or time compression, so that's not a particularly helpful suggestion.

Since no one else here seems to know how to do this, here is how you do it.

Download a third-party FSX clock gauge. The one I'm using is here.
http://simviation.com/1/download-file?f ... leId=42772

Unzip the download and drop the CAB file into your "...\Microsoft Flight Simulator X\Gauges" directory.

Open "...\Microsoft Flight Simulator X\SimObjects\Airplanes\A2A_PiperJ3\panel\panel.cfg" in a text editor. You now need to add a new panel definition, or replace an existing one. In my stock panel.cfg the panel called Window01 wasn't used for anything so I replaced that.

In the 'Window Titles' section I commented out the none1 entry and replaced it with one called 'Clock'.

//Window01=none1
Window01=Clock


I then commented out the corresponding panel definition and replaced it with one that loads the third-party clock gauge.

//[Window01]
//Background_color=0,0,0
//size_mm=1,1
//position=0
//nomenu=1
//visible=0
//ident=20
//sizable=0

[Window01]
BACKGROUND_COLOR=0,0,0
size_mm=75,100
position=8
visible=1
ident=MISC_POPUP_1
gauge00=FP9_Clock_analog!Breitling_B, 0, 0, 75, 100

Image
https://www.dropbox.com/s/cfrh82w7borip ... k.png?dl=0

Details of the panel definition files can be found here:
https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-gb/library/cc526956.aspx

Check the readme file that comes with the gauge you install for specific details.

Happy navigating.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Where is the clock?
PostPosted: Sun Jul 17, 2016 12:55 pm 
Online
Senior Master Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2011 5:54 pm
Posts: 1803
Necessity is the mother of....research? ! :D Happy to see you got it sorted, Neutrino!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Where is the clock?
PostPosted: Sun Sep 11, 2016 3:37 pm 
Offline
Technical Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 30, 2015 2:28 pm
Posts: 974
Neutrino wrote:
Yes Speedy I know the Cub did not have a built in clock. But obviously no pilot would be stupid enough to take to the air without at least having a decent watch instead. Equally obviously a real life watch isn't much use for navigating in game since it won't sync with pausing the game or time compression, so that's not a particularly helpful suggestion.

Since no one else here seems to know how to do this, here is how you do it.

Download a third-party FSX clock gauge. The one I'm using is here.
http://simviation.com/1/download-file?f ... leId=42772

Unzip the download and drop the CAB file into your "...\Microsoft Flight Simulator X\Gauges" directory.

Open "...\Microsoft Flight Simulator X\SimObjects\Airplanes\A2A_PiperJ3\panel\panel.cfg" in a text editor. You now need to add a new panel definition, or replace an existing one. In my stock panel.cfg the panel called Window01 wasn't used for anything so I replaced that.

In the 'Window Titles' section I commented out the none1 entry and replaced it with one called 'Clock'.

//Window01=none1
Window01=Clock


I then commented out the corresponding panel definition and replaced it with one that loads the third-party clock gauge.

//[Window01]
//Background_color=0,0,0
//size_mm=1,1
//position=0
//nomenu=1
//visible=0
//ident=20
//sizable=0

[Window01]
BACKGROUND_COLOR=0,0,0
size_mm=75,100
position=8
visible=1
ident=MISC_POPUP_1
gauge00=FP9_Clock_analog!Breitling_B, 0, 0, 75, 100

Image
https://www.dropbox.com/s/cfrh82w7borip ... k.png?dl=0

Details of the panel definition files can be found here:
https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-gb/library/cc526956.aspx

Check the readme file that comes with the gauge you install for specific details.

Happy navigating.


Fantastic thank you for this.

_________________
Accufeel V2, C172 , B377+L049+COTS, B17G, Piper Cub,Commanche,Cherrokee,Spitfire,Non accusim versions: P47,P40,both Mustangs
Aircraft Factory Avro Anson, Albatros DIII,Heinkel He-219, F4U Corsair, P51H Mustang, Avro 504
Watch my incompetent flying Twitch


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Where is the clock?
PostPosted: Thu Sep 15, 2016 12:22 pm 
Offline
Airman First Class

Joined: Wed May 28, 2014 10:45 pm
Posts: 52
It isn't that we don't know how to do it. -- it is we don't want to do it --- I like the j3 as is, but great for you that you have found a solution and thanks for sharing for others that might.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Where is the clock?
PostPosted: Fri Sep 16, 2016 3:15 pm 
Offline
Technical Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 30, 2015 2:28 pm
Posts: 974
I certainly want to put the clock on. :)

_________________
Accufeel V2, C172 , B377+L049+COTS, B17G, Piper Cub,Commanche,Cherrokee,Spitfire,Non accusim versions: P47,P40,both Mustangs
Aircraft Factory Avro Anson, Albatros DIII,Heinkel He-219, F4U Corsair, P51H Mustang, Avro 504
Watch my incompetent flying Twitch


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group