The A2A Simulations Community

"Come share your passion for flight"
It is currently Mon Oct 22, 2018 12:52 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: GPS for J3???
PostPosted: Sun Sep 15, 2013 12:27 am 
Offline
Senior Airman

Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2013 1:23 am
Posts: 141
Location: Australia
Hi A2A,

I got the the A2A Piper J3 with Accu-sim a while back and I absolutely love it, it's so astounding.
In this day and age most people who own these old planes have a basic gps installed so that they at least can navigate to places and I thought it would be a GREAT idea if you could add a GPSMAP 295 like from the A2A C172R Trainer into the J3. It would not take away realism at all.
It would be so handy!

_________________
Cirrus SR20 pilot based out of YMMB - Moorabbin Airport, Victoria, Australia.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GPS for J3???
PostPosted: Sun Oct 05, 2014 12:39 pm 
Offline
Airman
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2010 4:41 pm
Posts: 13
I know this is a really old post, but I was perusing the forum and saw this and had to reply.

It is a fairly simple process (editing the panel.cfg file) to change up the GPS on a plane. You can find some basic instructions here: http://www.ehow.com/how_12189626_add-gps-plane-fsx.html

If you want to use a specific GPS model instead of the Garmin 500, look at the panel.cfg for the plane that uses the model you want, and use that instead of the 500 that the example uses.

To add the 500 to my J3, after making a backup of the panel.cfg file, I edited the following in the [Window04] section:

I changed this:
Code:
size_mm=1024,768
pixel_size=1024,768
...
gauge00=A2A_PiperJ3!mapscreen,  5,5,764,764
gauge01=A2A_PiperJ3!map_settings,  773,5,246,232


To this:
Code:
size_mm=456,378
pixel_size=456,378
...
gauge00=fs9gps!gps_500, 0,0



I did this to the same section of the panel.cfg for all the variants so that I have a real GPS instead of the simple map. I understand the reasoning behind A2A implementing the simplistic map, but I like to think I am flying my vintage J3 in modern times and have the GPS500 in the same bag as my radio ;D


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group