The A2A Simulations Community

"Come share your passion for flight"
It is currently Tue May 30, 2017 8:05 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2017 6:26 am 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 3:52 pm
Posts: 23
Location: Alphen aan den Rijn, Netherlands
All,
I have acquired the P-47 long time ago, but am now really going for flying it, however, I run into the problem of assigning the Turbo booster to the lever axis on my Saitek Panel. I get the lever working in the joystick configurator, but it does not show/work in the cockpit. What am I doing wrong? Could someone please help? It looks like an easy solution, but I don't see it :cry:
Thanks very much
Hans

_________________
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 04, 2017 12:24 pm 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 3:52 pm
Posts: 23
Location: Alphen aan den Rijn, Netherlands
All,

I noted that a AxisConfig file has been made in the A2A/P-47 directory. Do I then transfer this axisconfig to the FSX rootdirectory or to the P-47 Sim oblects directory or leave it as it is?
Please help.

Regards
Hans

_________________
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 06, 2017 8:23 am 
Online
A2A Lieutenant Colonel
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 11:22 pm
Posts: 24254
Location: Lowestoft Suffolk UK
Hello,

there is no need to move the files. Is the config program saving the settings for you. Are you running the tool as admin via right clicking and selecting 'run as admin'

thanks,
Lewis - A2A

_________________
A2A Facebook for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Youtube because a video can say a thousand screenshots,..
My twitter for my own twitter and random A2A insights
My Twitch for my own twitch live streaming


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 08, 2017 4:27 am 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 3:52 pm
Posts: 23
Location: Alphen aan den Rijn, Netherlands
Hello Lewis,

Thanks for your response. I did select "run as administrator". Still the lever is recognised in the axis configurator, but not in the plane itself.
The axisConfig reads: Turbo_Lever joystick:3:XAxis True. I don't know whether this helps in finding the solution.
Thanks
Regards
Hans

_________________
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 22, 2017 5:24 am 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 3:52 pm
Posts: 23
Location: Alphen aan den Rijn, Netherlands
All,

I still don't get it working. Has anybody experienced the same problem and was there a solution to it?
Please help
Regards
Hans

_________________
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 23, 2017 11:17 am 
Online
A2A Lieutenant Colonel
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 11:22 pm
Posts: 24254
Location: Lowestoft Suffolk UK
Hello,

are you using any third party software for the panel. Can you let me know the exact hardware you are using?

thanks,
Lewis

_________________
A2A Facebook for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Youtube because a video can say a thousand screenshots,..
My twitter for my own twitter and random A2A insights
My Twitch for my own twitch live streaming


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 24, 2017 4:33 am 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 3:52 pm
Posts: 23
Location: Alphen aan den Rijn, Netherlands
Hello Lewis,
Thank you for offering help.
I use Saitek pro-flight yoke, rudder and throttle quadrants. By the way; they are working fine with throttle, mixture and prop setting with the P-47 and all other planes I use in all sorts of modes, from 1 to 4 engined aircraft incl the A2A B-17. With the B-17 I limited myself to using the basic axis and buttons. I use FSUIPC for the assignment of axis and buttons. FSX-SE sttings are disabled.
Hope this helps

Regards
Hans

_________________
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 24, 2017 11:37 am 
Online
A2A Lieutenant Colonel
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 11:22 pm
Posts: 24254
Location: Lowestoft Suffolk UK
Hello,

if they are disabled in fsx that might be the issue.

thanks,
Lewis

_________________
A2A Facebook for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Youtube because a video can say a thousand screenshots,..
My twitter for my own twitter and random A2A insights
My Twitch for my own twitch live streaming


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 24, 2017 11:39 pm 
Offline
Technical Sergeant

Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2013 10:03 pm
Posts: 958
Location: Perth, W. Aust
For what it's worth, I have all my planes flying nicely using only the FSX-SE assignments in Win7 controller calibration with no third party controller software, including FSUIPC. I'm using CH yoke, Saitek rudders and trim, and 2 CH throttle controllers so I can control 4 engines individually. My P-47 works well using engine 1 throttle/prop/mixture on the CH throttles, and the P-47 turbo lever is controlled off the CH yoke's mixture axis.

So my suggestion would be to use the basic FSX assignments and calibration only, and see what happens. Like you, I found third party controller software had me tearing my hair out for no extra benefit. I hope you do get it working as the P-47 is worth the effort. Incidentally, this set up gives me lots of levers for stuff like cowl flaps and carbie heat on the A2A GA planes.


Hope this helps,
Mike

_________________
ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 28, 2017 10:15 am 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 3:52 pm
Posts: 23
Location: Alphen aan den Rijn, Netherlands
Mike and Lewis,

Thank you for your suggestions. I'll give it a try. Strange though that I never had an issue with FSUIPC with any plane; still.
I'll report back.

Hans

_________________
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group