The A2A Simulations Community

"Come share your passion for flight"
It is currently Tue Oct 23, 2018 7:59 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Trying to reinstall B-17
PostPosted: Mon Feb 26, 2018 8:50 pm 
Offline
Technical Sergeant

Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2004 2:50 pm
Posts: 654
After stumbling across some of my old screenshots of the A2A B-17, I tried to load it into FSX and found the files corrupted. The instruments don't show in the cockpit and some of the 2D panels dont display. I went into my A2A account and found where I had originally bought and downloaded the B-17 in 2009. I re-downloaded but the installer wont run saying it cant find the B-17. I wonder if I have the FX9 version rather than the FSX version? On the FSX aircraft loading screen I get three B-17s but the textures don't have thumbnails so all that displays in the aircraft loading window is the FSX icon for when there is no thumbnail. Also I have a B-17F as well as the B-17G. The F has a Memphis Bell texture that I got some where. You can see it in the image I posted today.

My recollection is that the B-17 got corrupted when my computer crashed and I switched from XP to Win7 so I have quite a tail of woe, but the question is what do I do now, Lewis? Also does the A2A B-17 include an F model? The main visible difference is the F model doesn't have a chin turret. Not sure how I got the F model.

_________________
Some old computer stuff, some A2A airplanes, some Orbx scenery, and that's about it. I forget exactly what.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 27, 2018 5:38 am 
Online
Senior Master Sergeant

Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2016 8:23 am
Posts: 1696
Hi.
I have both the A2A and Aeroplane heaven B17`s , A2A did just the G but Aeroplane heaven did the F and G , do you have both Aeroplane heaven and A2A B17`s installed .
Also when your system got corrupted , did you make sure ALL of A2A B17 files where removed prior to reinstall , also some anti virus programs , if not set to ignor anything to do with flightsims , can cause corrupted installs.
regards alan. 8)

_________________
Image
Image
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 27, 2018 2:59 pm 
Offline
Technical Sergeant

Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2004 2:50 pm
Posts: 654
I had only the A2A version. Maybe the guy who did the F model repaint that I have used the paint kit from the Airplane Heaven version. Anyway it worked and was not the cause of the computer crash.

I think the problem with the redownload is that what ever file A2A uses that indicates my original purchase is valid, that file is gone from my computer, but the purchase still appears in my A2A account.

_________________
Some old computer stuff, some A2A airplanes, some Orbx scenery, and that's about it. I forget exactly what.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 27, 2018 11:01 pm 
Offline
Senior Master Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 4:15 pm
Posts: 1823
Location: Great Falls Army Air Base, Montana
There was a Wings of Power B-17F made for FS9 that was included in the "Heavy Bombers and Jets" collection. HB&J was re-released on the "Aircraft Power Pack" DVD in the early days of FSX, and APP included an FSX install option as well as native FS9. Unfortunately, FSX SP1 and SP2 caused the WoP/HB&J models to be incompatible with FSX.

Some years ago I installed (or copied over from FS9) the APP version of HB&J into FSX SP2. I think there are instructions for this in the HB&J forum. You'll still have some visual glitches but it is possible to fly the old WoP B-17F in FSX.

_________________
I like Thunderbolts! (Click on "Photos")


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 28, 2018 9:41 am 
Offline
A2A Lieutenant Colonel
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 11:22 pm
Posts: 28216
Location: Beccles, Suffolk, UK
Hello,

if you can let me know your order number I can check what B-17 you have. It does sound like you intially tried to install the Accu-sim pack for the B-17 prior to first installing the B-17 itself.

thanks,
Lewis

_________________
A2A Facebook for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Youtube because a video can say a thousand screenshots,..
A2A Simulations Twitter for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Simulations Community Discord for voice/text chat


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 28, 2018 3:10 pm 
Offline
Senior Master Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 4:15 pm
Posts: 1823
Location: Great Falls Army Air Base, Montana
Bullfox's =ecent screenshot in Pilot's Lounge shows a B-17F. No chin turret. So my conclusion is he has the oringinal Wings of Power B-17F/G for FS9. I don't know if that pack had an FSX install option, but if so it would be pre Acceleration/SP2. And not Accusim compatible.

_________________
I like Thunderbolts! (Click on "Photos")


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 01, 2018 5:07 am 
Offline
A2A Lieutenant Colonel
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 11:22 pm
Posts: 28216
Location: Beccles, Suffolk, UK
Yes, the only B-17 we offer for FSX is the B-17G that will soon be just the Accu-sim B-17G.

thanks,
Lewis

_________________
A2A Facebook for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Youtube because a video can say a thousand screenshots,..
A2A Simulations Twitter for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Simulations Community Discord for voice/text chat


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group