The A2A Simulations Community

"Come share your passion for flight"
It is currently Tue Oct 23, 2018 5:47 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2017 11:16 pm 
Offline
Airman
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2011 6:46 pm
Posts: 47
Location: Tampa, Florida
When I try to apply this update I get a failed messages saying that the file cannot be accessed because it is being used by another program. FSX is not running . I did a restart and the update started but got stuck updating Comanche 250. When I try to run it again I get the can't access message. What other program would be using the file the update is trying to access?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2017 11:44 pm 
Offline
A2A Master Mechanic
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2008 5:04 pm
Posts: 3236
Location: San Francisco
Are you running the updater as "Administrator"?

Not sure what else could be at play here.....wait, just thought of something.

I did see some strangeness on my system running the updater. I have my OrbX files
in the root of a partition just for those files and mount that drive in the empty
OrbX folder in the FSX directory.

When the updater runs, for some unexplained reason it accesses that OrbX partition which
has a system folder "System Volume Information" located there. Apparently the updater
tries to access that folder and I get the error message.

So, you might want to make sure your permissions for all FSX-related files and folders are
OK and not restricting access.

To get around having to un-,ount my OrbX drive every time I ran the updated I changed the
permissions on that System Volume Information folder fto allow 'full control'.

Paul

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 01, 2017 11:09 pm 
Offline
Airman
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2011 6:46 pm
Posts: 47
Location: Tampa, Florida
This is the error message I get when the update program tries to update an aircraft that needs updating.
https://photos.google.com/album/AF1QipP ... YqTAhRzIEA
I have no idea what process to look for. There are a lot of processes running on my computer. Any ideas on how to figuer out the culprit.

_________________
i7 8700K CPU @ 4.4 GHz, 16 GB DDR4 3000 memory, Gigabyte Aorus Z370 MB, Asus GTX 960 OC GPU 4GB GDDR5 Memory, MasterAir MA610P CPU cooler, 500GB SSD, 2T HDD, 3 Asus 24" monitors, Saitek X52 Stick.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 01, 2017 11:27 pm 
Offline
Airman
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2011 6:46 pm
Posts: 47
Location: Tampa, Florida
Dang!!
I just figured it out. I went into the processes running on my computer and found one called Program updater I don't remember exact name. I ended that one and I also ended the Steam client bootstrapper. Now the Accu-sim update runs correctly. Not sure stopping which one fixed the problem.

_________________
i7 8700K CPU @ 4.4 GHz, 16 GB DDR4 3000 memory, Gigabyte Aorus Z370 MB, Asus GTX 960 OC GPU 4GB GDDR5 Memory, MasterAir MA610P CPU cooler, 500GB SSD, 2T HDD, 3 Asus 24" monitors, Saitek X52 Stick.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group