The A2A Simulations Community

"Come share your passion for flight"
It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 7:24 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 18, 2008 9:35 pm 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Sun Jul 23, 2006 9:25 pm
Posts: 18
Thanks gentlemen...very nice work.

Roy Marsh


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 19, 2008 9:49 am 
Offline
Airman
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 11:03 pm
Posts: 39
pj_3 wrote:
There is no such possibility to do this in any sim, and once the "F" keys and any other assignable switch are disabled it then becomes a dangerous and difficult operation on approach or on a go-around.


100% agreed,PJ !

Quote:
Because I find this SO difficult I'm now flying without the use of the flaps - yes - it's that much of an annoying chore. :x


Even more dangerous and difficult! :wink: But are you sure the "F" keys won't work ? They work fine here....

"F8" or "F7" lowers the flaps, "F5"or "F6" retracts them. But you have to hold the keys down ! Check them out while still on the ground, notice the speed.

Amazing external and internal model, textures and sounds ! She flies nice too ! Thanks a lot, A2A !! 8)

Cheers,
Jan


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 19, 2008 10:57 am 
Offline
A2A General
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2004 12:55 pm
Posts: 14756
Location: USA
Here's a video showing the flaps being operated:
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=qcMjhihuuX8

We wanted to simulate this effort and time as it means you have to fly the 109 differently. You need to be prepared, and sort of have to choose a flap setting that is good for the final, touchdown, and stopping.

Scott.

_________________
A2A Simulations Inc.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 19, 2008 11:21 am 
Offline
Staff Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2007 1:07 pm
Posts: 419
Location: Poland/Warsaw
Fantastic update with many additional gems :) The gauge which is showing trim angle is very nice, too.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 21, 2008 5:46 pm 
Offline
Senior Airman
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2007 5:49 pm
Posts: 169
Location: Ontario, Canada
Yes - I understand how the flaps work in the real aircraft, Scott - I've actually sat in one (I'm 63, you know) - but that doesn't alter the fact that "feeling" the wheel is not the same as looking down at the wheel while you move the mouse to pull it around. If the Luftwaffe pilots were forced to do this - WWII would have been over by 1942.

Sorry my friend - I love both Spit and 109: the modeling, the detail and realism - the atmosphere, the sounds, etc.. but I dislike this feature intensely and I guess I will reinstall the original and put up with the cloud/prop issue instead.

Best Regards,

pj

(of course, if enough people complain....) :twisted:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 21, 2008 6:05 pm 
Offline
A2A Lieutenant Colonel
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 11:22 pm
Posts: 26271
Location: Beccles, Suffolk, UK
pj, the buttons still work, just hold them down instead of quick press. The longer the button is held down the more the flaps come down. Its how such manual things are simulated in pc flight sim's not just by us, as by simulating one hand having to stay on one function is simulating the way ones hand must stay on the wheel and therefore not just a quick slap of the flaps button.

_________________
A2A Facebook for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Youtube because a video can say a thousand screenshots,..
My twitter for my own twitter and random A2A insights
My Twitch for my own twitch live streaming


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 21, 2008 6:53 pm 
Offline
A2A Colonel
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 2:56 am
Posts: 3411
Location: Bytom, Poland
For the flap control, one can:
- grab and drag the flap control wheel
- scroll the mouse wheel
- press joystic buttons (with 'repeat' option)
- press F5, F6, F7, and F8 keys.

All you have to do is to press and keep it pressed for few seconds.

regards
ROB

_________________
A2A Simulations Inc.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 21, 2008 8:28 pm 
Offline
Senior Airman
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2007 5:49 pm
Posts: 169
Location: Ontario, Canada
Aaaaw, shucks... maybe I shoulda done that! :oops: I didn't even look to see if there was any kind of readme or pilots notes attached to the install - nor even if you had something on the web-site - so I apologize. I won't reinstall! :D

You know - the problem is - some six weeks ago I bought a '72 Triumph Bonneville , and have been playing with it ever since. I grew up on bikes, but haven't ridden since 1970, so it's sort of taken a life of it's own, and the sim has taken a back seat. :(

I'm glad to have the patch: you worked wonders with the Spit, and I confess - I didn't spend the time with the 109 that I should have, and many thanks for the several responses.

... and (forgive me Rob/Sean) I prefer flying the A2A Spit over the RA XIV.

Regards,

pj


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2008 11:23 am 
Offline
Airman Basic

Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2008 2:12 pm
Posts: 1
S!

Great Update, everything works now, even the manual startup procedures can now be executed.

I am very glad!
Christian


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 02, 2008 3:27 pm 
Offline
Airman Basic
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 01, 2008 4:09 am
Posts: 3
Thanks so much. It's great to be able to fly this with SP2!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group