The A2A Simulations Community

"Come share your passion for flight"
It is currently Sat Oct 20, 2018 7:01 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 32 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Comanche 400
PostPosted: Wed Apr 04, 2018 7:54 am 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 5:13 pm
Posts: 18
A while back there was a video posted on YouTube of running the Comanche 400 engine. What’s happening with that aircraft these days? Would be really cool to see some more pictures or footage of it or an update as there really isn’t much info out there. (Would be cooler yet to have an accu-sim version but I won’t jump on that next-aircraft-please bandwagon ;) )


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Comanche 400
PostPosted: Wed Apr 04, 2018 7:40 pm 
Offline
A2A General
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2004 12:55 pm
Posts: 15305
Location: USA
The Comanche 400 is stored in our hangar atm and will be there for some time. The plan is to finally sell the Comanche 250, use the Aerostar as our primary airplane for 2018, then later this year get the Comanche 400 in the air. Then decide which airplane to keep or for that matter, we may end up selling both and getting something else. It's hard to say now, but the Comanche 400 is very low on our priority list. The 400 is a rare airplane and we will likely therefore take our time bringing it back to life.

Right now the prop is off the 400 due to a cracked blade, so I plan on putting on another prop just to run the plane once a month around the airport.

Scott.

_________________
A2A Simulations Inc.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Comanche 400
PostPosted: Wed Apr 04, 2018 7:59 pm 
Offline
A2A ACE

Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 6:13 am
Posts: 2358
Location: KCZL
Scott how did the blade crack?

_________________
Image
Image
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Comanche 400
PostPosted: Wed Apr 04, 2018 11:45 pm 
Offline
Master Sergeant

Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2013 10:03 pm
Posts: 1315
Location: Perth, W. Aust
I am among those who would love to see an Accu-Sim Comanche 400. There are sufficient differences between the 250 and 400 to make it a very worthwhile Accu-Sim project.

Please keep us informed of the progress in returning your Comanche 400 to the skies.


Cheers,
Mike

_________________
ImageImageImageImage


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Comanche 400
PostPosted: Thu Apr 05, 2018 4:36 am 
Offline
Senior Airman
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2018 9:18 am
Posts: 120
Location: France
I did some quick searches on the web weeks ago and was surprised to see that you could get a Comanche 250 for the price of a nice car in the US :mrgreen: (50K to 70K $)
Is it expensive to own such a plane ? I guess it's like an old sports car: store it and don't drive it everyday or you'll go bankrupt.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Comanche 400
PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2018 8:55 am 
Offline
Senior Airman

Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2014 11:38 am
Posts: 217
Location: Vancouver, BC
Marvin: A Comanche 250 can be a very economical given that it is a relatively high performance aircraft. It will be more expensive to operate and maintain than a fixed gear bug-smasher - but not that much more. If you fly more than about 100 hours per year it is absolutely cheaper than renting.

_________________
Clear Direct


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Comanche 400
PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2018 4:13 pm 
Offline
Senior Airman
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2016 6:44 pm
Posts: 190
Scott, are you planning to make an A2A Piper Aerostar?

Thanks.

_________________
Caleb Byers

A2A Hanger: C182, C172, PA-28, PA-24, J3

PC: Intel Core i7 6700 @ 3.4 GHz to 4.0 GHz, 24GB RAM, GTX 745 with 4GB VRAM, 2TB SSHD, Win 10 Home x64.

Simulators: P3D v3.4, P3D v4.2, FSX:SE

Real Hanger at FD08: ’56 C172, ’64 PA-24 400


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Comanche 400
PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2018 4:28 pm 
Offline
Senior Airman
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2018 8:58 am
Posts: 176
Location: US
Wow, Scott, it always looked like you really loved the Comanche 250; wouldn't it be hard to let it go?

_________________
i7-7700K 4.9 Ghz (OC), ASUS MAXIMUS IX HERO, 32GB DDR4-3200 RAM, EVGA GTX 980Ti Classified 6GB, EVGA 850 G3 Gold ps, C:=1TB WD Black D:=4TB WD Black, Win 10 Pro, Prepar3D v4, AFS2, FSW, Tons of Orbx :)
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Comanche 400
PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2018 4:58 pm 
Offline
Senior Airman
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2016 6:44 pm
Posts: 190
Buffy Foster wrote:
Wow, Scott, it always looked like you really loved the Comanche 250; wouldn't it be hard to let it go?


Yes.....

_________________
Caleb Byers

A2A Hanger: C182, C172, PA-28, PA-24, J3

PC: Intel Core i7 6700 @ 3.4 GHz to 4.0 GHz, 24GB RAM, GTX 745 with 4GB VRAM, 2TB SSHD, Win 10 Home x64.

Simulators: P3D v3.4, P3D v4.2, FSX:SE

Real Hanger at FD08: ’56 C172, ’64 PA-24 400


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Comanche 400
PostPosted: Sat Apr 07, 2018 5:28 am 
Offline
A2A Mechanic
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 26, 2013 5:03 am
Posts: 3878
Scott - A2A wrote:
Then decide which airplane to keep or for that matter, we may end up selling both and getting something else.
Mind not doing that until you've got the Aerostar properly introduced into the world of FSX/P3D? :wink:
awash2002 wrote:
Scott how did the blade crack?
Cracks in the blades often originate from sharp nicks or such, serving as stress concentrators. Then they grow by fatigue. The alloy used in the blades is incredibly difficult to crack, often even prop strikes as serious as fatal crashes won't crack the blades in large extent even if they are completely rolled over. But the fatigue does its job.

-Esa


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Comanche 400
PostPosted: Sat Apr 07, 2018 12:48 pm 
Offline
A2A ACE

Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 6:13 am
Posts: 2358
Location: KCZL
OK

_________________
Image
Image
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Comanche 400
PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2018 12:10 pm 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 5:13 pm
Posts: 18
Thanks for the update Scott, Always good to see old planes being put back into use!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Comanche 400
PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2018 5:55 pm 
Offline
A2A General
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2004 12:55 pm
Posts: 15305
Location: USA
One of the blades has an internal crack, which is what these blades were at risk of so I'm glad to have it off the airplane.

Regarding selling the 250, I can't justify keeping it. The key for me and A2A moving forward in regards to airplane ownership is it needs to continually challenge and never get complacent. If after a year both the Comanche and Aerostar are sold, then that allows another airplane to come in, and so on. So rather than think of "hold on to this airplane" think "keep experiencing new airplanes and grow." I have to push back against being comfortable.

Scott.

_________________
A2A Simulations Inc.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Comanche 400
PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2018 6:08 pm 
Offline
Senior Airman
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2018 8:58 am
Posts: 176
Location: US
Scott - A2A wrote:
Regarding selling the 250, I can't justify keeping it. The key for me and A2A moving forward in regards to airplane ownership is it needs to continually challenge and never get complacent. If after a year both the Comanche and Aerostar are sold, then that allows another airplane to come in, and so on. So rather than think of "hold on to this airplane" think "keep experiencing new airplanes and grow." I have to push back against being comfortable.

Scott.


Oh, that makes sense, yeah. Like how the V-Tail will be a new challenge for us. I hope we'll get to fly the Aerostar, too. ;-)

-Buffy

_________________
i7-7700K 4.9 Ghz (OC), ASUS MAXIMUS IX HERO, 32GB DDR4-3200 RAM, EVGA GTX 980Ti Classified 6GB, EVGA 850 G3 Gold ps, C:=1TB WD Black D:=4TB WD Black, Win 10 Pro, Prepar3D v4, AFS2, FSW, Tons of Orbx :)
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Comanche 400
PostPosted: Tue Apr 10, 2018 3:51 pm 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2015 4:30 pm
Posts: 19
Scott,

Did the headliner ever get reinstalled in 29P?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 32 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: guillaume78150 and 19 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group