The A2A Simulations Community

"Come share your passion for flight"
It is currently Tue Dec 11, 2018 12:07 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 137 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 10  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Oct 11, 2017 8:13 am 
Offline
Senior Airman
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2010 3:45 pm
Posts: 221
I've read a lot about how airlines back in the days dealt with the Constellation and her maintenance needs...

They had a lot of spare engines, or better said, freshly overhauled, before faulty engines to swap on an airplane when there was any doubt about the condition of an installed engine.

Wouldn't it be wonderful to have some spare engines, each one with it's own history, to put on the airplane and hope that they will do better than their predecessors?

Just an idea ... I love the a2a universe already. Currently enroute to Wien-Schwechat with the Lufthansa L-049!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 11, 2017 1:47 pm 
Offline
Airman First Class

Joined: Fri May 10, 2013 6:05 pm
Posts: 64
I think this would be an amazing option!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 11, 2017 4:50 pm 
Offline
A2A Aviation Consultant
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 12:06 pm
Posts: 2117
Location: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA
In effect, that is what you do when you "overhaul" the engine. Even though everything is "100%" they will each wear individually each time you hit that button.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 11, 2017 6:49 pm 
Offline
A2A General
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2004 12:55 pm
Posts: 15363
Location: USA
The Accu-Sim airplane in development atm is planned to come with three engine options, that can be changed in the maintenance hangar :)

Scott.

_________________
A2A Simulations Inc.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 11, 2017 6:56 pm 
Offline
Senior Airman

Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 4:13 pm
Posts: 173
Scott - A2A wrote:
The Accu-Sim airplane in development atm is planned to come with three engine options, that can be changed in the maintenance hangar :)

Scott.


You mean the A2A Aerostar? :lol: :D

_________________
i7-6700k | Asus Maximus VIII Hero | 32GB Corsair Vengence (LED) DDR4 3000MHz (15-17-17-35) | Asus Strix GTX 1070 OC | Corsair H115i | Samsung V-Nano 950 Pro M.2 NVM Express (256GB) | Corsair Obsidian 750D Airflow Full Tower


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 11, 2017 7:12 pm 
Offline
A2A Spitfire Crew Chief
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2008 11:41 pm
Posts: 5284
Location: The South West of the large island off the north coast of Tasmania
Blitzer wrote:
You mean the A2A Aerostar? :lol: :D



Ah... I see what you did there... :)

_________________
Image Image
Image
...Some say he never blinks, and that he roams around the woods at night foraging for Merlin parts...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 11, 2017 10:46 pm 
Offline
Master Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2013 10:10 am
Posts: 1070
Location: Arendal, Norway
Scott - A2A wrote:
The Accu-Sim airplane in development atm is planned to come with three engine options, that can be changed in the maintenance hangar :)

Scott.


Ford Tri-Motor? :)

Enough with the teasing.

We’re drowning here, and you’re describing the water! *
:-D

*Quote from “As Good as it Gets”

_________________
Erik Haugan Aasland,

Arendal, Norway
(Homebase: Kristiansand Lufthavn, Kjevik (ENCN)

All the Accusim-planes are in my hangar, but they aren't sitting long enough for their engines to cool much before next flight!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 11, 2017 11:27 pm 
Offline
Master Sergeant

Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2013 10:03 pm
Posts: 1339
Location: Perth, W. Aust
Scott - A2A wrote:
The Accu-Sim airplane in development atm is planned to come with three engine options, that can be changed in the maintenance hangar :)

Scott.



Well, I won't be able to sleep at night, wondering what this could be... You're a cruel man, Mr Gentile :lol: :lol:


Cheers,
Mike

_________________
ImageImageImageImage


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2017 1:19 am 
Offline
A2A Mechanic
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 26, 2013 5:03 am
Posts: 3959
Interesting! A couple of options for guessing game. :)

1) It is an airplane model that has been produced with at least three engine models, with little or no other differences in between them.

2) It is an airplane model that has several fairly common STCs that change the engine (like some Cessnas).

3) It is of some artistic license instead, fusing more different models/variants into a single simulation.


-Esa


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2017 6:56 am 
Offline
Staff Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2006 3:10 pm
Posts: 395
Location: Hamburg, Germany
I guess it's the Spitfire Mark IX. We already know that A2A has created a Spitfire Mark IX for Airtech Simulation. And Lewis said a while ago that, if possible, they would like to release the Mark IX for the home market as well.

It also fits with Scott's statement as there were three main versions of the Mk IX: The standard F.IX used the Merlin 61, the LF Mk IX was equipped with the Merlin 66 for better performance at lower altitudes and the HF.Mk IX was produced using the Merlin 70 engine with an improved performance at high altitude.

Greetings
Tim

_________________
My files in the Avsim File Library


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2017 9:05 am 
Offline
Senior Master Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 4:15 pm
Posts: 1829
Location: Great Falls Army Air Base, Montana
^
I hope you are right, Tim! And that Airtech Simulations FB page is very intriguing.

_________________
I like Thunderbolts! (Click on "Photos")


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2017 11:31 am 
Offline
Master Sergeant

Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2013 10:03 pm
Posts: 1339
Location: Perth, W. Aust
The Spitfire MkV was also powered by different versions of the Merlin. Various versions of the MkV had a range of engines from the Merlin 45/50 series, for different specialised applications including high and low altitude versions. So could also be that.

Then again, there are heaps of GA planes that were powered by different engines too. Planes such as the Model 35 Bonanza, Piper Arrow, Rockwell Commander, Cessna 310 and Cessna 337 all had engines of different sizes and power, with turbo and non-turbo options available, so could also be one of them.

So still lots of planes to speculate over what might be the next release, but at least the list of possible subjects is a little shorter!!


Cheers,
Mike

_________________
ImageImageImageImage


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2017 6:32 pm 
Offline
Senior Airman

Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2013 4:29 pm
Posts: 139
Location: Maitland, NSW Australia
At the risk of starting something, THE LANCASTER could be argued to be powered by three different engines! RR Merlin, Packard Merlin, Bristol Hercules.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2017 7:06 pm 
Offline
A2A Spitfire Crew Chief
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2008 11:41 pm
Posts: 5284
Location: The South West of the large island off the north coast of Tasmania
Or it might be a Manchester that hasn't quite matured yet......
;)

Or an S6B .. THEY went through about three engines a day ...

BTW, I could say that the Boultbee IX model is great fun to fly.. (I'm helping Richard with that sim) ... but that would just be cruel...and I'm not, by nature.. :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:


(Hey Rich, your Super Charger plate just needs that font and 10 minutes on the milling machine for me to finish it!)

_________________
Image Image
Image
...Some say he never blinks, and that he roams around the woods at night foraging for Merlin parts...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2017 7:42 pm 
Offline
A2A General
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2004 12:55 pm
Posts: 15363
Location: USA
Just to be clear, the new Accu-Sim airplane has STC's to allow three different engines to be installed :)

Scott.

_________________
A2A Simulations Inc.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 137 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 10  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: tango4 and 18 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group