The A2A Simulations Community

"Come share your passion for flight"
It is currently Wed Jan 18, 2017 7:08 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 28 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Repaints in FSX-SE
PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2016 7:13 am 
Offline
Senior Airman
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 5:32 pm
Posts: 105
I posted this in Repainters thread yesterday, but no response yet...

Win 10 - FSX-SE

For some reason, repaints are not showing up in the Free Flight aircraft selection page - no icon, no anything. I had several other repaints for the A2A Comanche and Cherokee, but only one shows up and it has been there a while. I added the latest repaint yesterday when I realized it, along with several others, weren't showing up at all.

I have checked and double-checked files locations and security and verified aircraft.cfg entry.

Any ideas folks?

Thanks!!
Robert


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Repaints in FSX-SE
PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2016 7:15 am 
Offline
Chief Master Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 2:14 pm
Posts: 3345
Location: Germany
Hi Robert,

Did you check "show all variations" in the aircraft selection menu? That should give you the option to choose between the different paints.

Image

_________________
B377&COTS, J3 Cub, B-17G, Spitfire, P-40, P-51D, C172, C182, Pa28, Pa24, T-6 Texan, L-049&COTS
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Repaints in FSX-SE
PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2016 7:19 am 
Offline
Senior Airman
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 5:32 pm
Posts: 105
Hi Piper,

Thanks and yes, I did verrify Show All Variations was checked. I also went all the way through all the aircraft shown to make sure they weren't showing up in some random place, but they aren't there. Robert


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Repaints in FSX-SE
PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2016 7:32 am 
Offline
Senior Airman
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 5:32 pm
Posts: 105
Has anyone else tried to add a repaint in the last few days? I would be interested to know. I was thinking something might have broke in one of the recent updates to Steam.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Repaints in FSX-SE
PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2016 7:37 am 
Offline
Chief Master Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 2:14 pm
Posts: 3345
Location: Germany
Are you sure that there is no syntax errors in your aircraft.cfg? Is the sim showing the paint variations on the stock aircraft and on the "stock" A2A liveries that were included from A2A?

_________________
B377&COTS, J3 Cub, B-17G, Spitfire, P-40, P-51D, C172, C182, Pa28, Pa24, T-6 Texan, L-049&COTS
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Repaints in FSX-SE
PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2016 7:58 am 
Offline
Senior Airman
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 5:32 pm
Posts: 105
Apparently, that was it Piper. In the readme.txt file for the repaint I downloaded, where it has the data to copy/paste into the aircraft.cfg file, it had the following line:

model=emblem

I removed the word "emblem", then it showed up in the selection screen.

I'm not sure what this means, but at least I can select the repaint aircraft now.

Thanks for your expertise and suggestions of where to look Piper!!!

Robert


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Repaints in FSX-SE
PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2016 8:16 am 
Offline
Chief Master Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 2:14 pm
Posts: 3345
Location: Germany
Good! I'm glad you found the culprit! I think the "emblem" was a model version of the Cherokee that got removed with one of the updates.

Enjoy the countless repaints nice repaints :wink:

_________________
B377&COTS, J3 Cub, B-17G, Spitfire, P-40, P-51D, C172, C182, Pa28, Pa24, T-6 Texan, L-049&COTS
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Repaints in FSX-SE
PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2016 8:39 am 
Offline
Senior Master Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 1:28 pm
Posts: 2235
There used to be an emblem model, but that was removed in an update some time back. What you found was just an old repaint.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Repaints in FSX-SE
PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2016 1:48 pm 
Offline
Senior Airman
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 5:32 pm
Posts: 105
Thanks for the info Bruce! I really didn't look closely at the publish date. I assumed it was recent.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Repaints in FSX-SE
PostPosted: Mon Aug 08, 2016 9:57 am 
Offline
Airman Basic

Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2016 9:43 am
Posts: 8
Hi folks!
I have the same problem with J-3 Cub. I tried to install repaint from OZx forum and there is any "emblem" in their “readme.txt”, but I don’t see new Cub in the “Free Flight” aircraft selection.
Any more ideas?

Thanks!!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Repaints in FSX-SE
PostPosted: Mon Aug 08, 2016 2:58 pm 
Offline
Chief Master Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 2:14 pm
Posts: 3345
Location: Germany
Hi,

And welcome to the community. Did you try to remove the "emblem" lettering out of the aircraft.cfg for that paint like OP?

_________________
B377&COTS, J3 Cub, B-17G, Spitfire, P-40, P-51D, C172, C182, Pa28, Pa24, T-6 Texan, L-049&COTS
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Repaints in FSX-SE
PostPosted: Wed Aug 10, 2016 7:57 am 
Offline
Airman Basic

Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2016 9:43 am
Posts: 8
Here is the part of “readme.txt” file for the repaint. I don`t see here any anusual. In other cases OZx repaints works fine. But not with A2A Cub.


[fltsim.xx]
title=A2A Piper Cub VH-DRT Tundra
sim=PiperJ3t
model=
panel=
sound=
texture=VH-DRT
kb_checklists=
kb_reference=
atc_id=VH-DRT
atc_id_color=
ui_manufacturer="A2A Piper"
ui_type="J-3 Cub w/tundra"
ui_variation="VH-DRT"
ui_typerole="Single Engine Prop"
ui_createdby="A2A Simulations Inc."
description="The Piper Cub embodies the very essence of the romance and gypsy-lure of flying. Its design is one of the most fundamental expressions of the basic, primal relationship between pilot and airplane; and few airplanes define “stick and rudder” more faithfully and distinctly than does the Cub."


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Repaints in FSX-SE
PostPosted: Wed Aug 10, 2016 8:43 am 
Offline
Chief Master Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 2:14 pm
Posts: 3345
Location: Germany
This repaint seems to be aimed at the Tundra Version of the Cub. You did install it into the Tundra model and add this line to the aircraft.cfg of the Tundra model of the Cub right? This would be the folder A2A_PiperJ3_t in your simobjects folder.

_________________
B377&COTS, J3 Cub, B-17G, Spitfire, P-40, P-51D, C172, C182, Pa28, Pa24, T-6 Texan, L-049&COTS
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Repaints in FSX-SE
PostPosted: Wed Aug 10, 2016 10:46 am 
Offline
Airman Basic

Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2016 9:43 am
Posts: 8
Yes, I did everything as you wrote.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Repaints in FSX-SE
PostPosted: Wed Aug 10, 2016 10:56 am 
Offline
Chief Master Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 2:14 pm
Posts: 3345
Location: Germany
And you also clicked on show all variants as shown above?

_________________
B377&COTS, J3 Cub, B-17G, Spitfire, P-40, P-51D, C172, C182, Pa28, Pa24, T-6 Texan, L-049&COTS
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 28 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group