The A2A Simulations Community

"Come share your passion for flight"
It is currently Tue Oct 17, 2017 1:48 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat May 21, 2016 10:08 pm 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 8:56 pm
Posts: 23
Location: Aotearoa (New Zealand)
Hello All.

Kylania put this sim/game together for me by way of Teamviewer. Something that I will forever be grateful for as I simply 'love' this game. He put in all the patches and updates right up to date. My computer is, like me, getting rather long in the tooth and I don't want to lose the sim.

What or how is the best way to copy this sim in it's entirety (as I have a spare external hard drive) so should my desktop fail me badly I can take it from my reserve external HD and put it back into any new hard drive my computer may require.

I would be extremely grateful should I receive any help, as I'm not a computer buff in fact I still remember an old 1928 Essex that my grandfather used to drive around the town :roll:

Thank you all.
Jim

_________________
Computer:W10 (updated from W7), 64bit, Quad Core, Intel i7 920 2.67Ghz , 12GB Ram, Nvidia GTX 570, 24" Widescreen 1080p full HD Monitor 1920 x 1080 Res.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 22, 2016 3:00 am 
Offline
BDG
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2006 6:06 pm
Posts: 1772
Sorry no one has answered,i'm not sure of the answer to that but i see you are running windows 10 ,does it run ok on windows 10 for you?
Hope someone spots this question and can answer it.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 22, 2016 5:34 am 
Offline
BDG
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2004 8:21 am
Posts: 5073
Location: wet coast, Canada
I have no idea what teamviewer is. BoB2 won't run without
the correct registry entries, which are created during install,
so you need an install cd or download from A2A to start off.
Once you have that, the current patch gets installed over it,
and you're done. If you do a complete copy to zip of your
current install, and tuck it away on a cd or thumbdrive or
whatever, you can use it to reconstitute your install if it
gets corrupted as long as the registry is unaffected, but
otherwise, you have to do the reinstall.

If that's not enough information, just ask more.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 22, 2016 5:58 am 
Offline
Senior Airman
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2014 1:07 am
Posts: 129
Location: Chennai, INDIA
Dear zl2bmh,

I am not aware of any one-click restore from back-up at the moment.
+1 to what PV has said.
My restores (after I goof up 3d bins/shaders etc.) usually involve uninstalling, registry cleanup with ccleaner, restart, reinstall base game, install patch and restore from backup.
The current installer sets some registry entries during installation I think. Hence restore is not possible without an install.

--
Vasanth

_________________
Veni, vidi, velcro

I came, I saw, I stuck around...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 22, 2016 8:37 pm 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 8:56 pm
Posts: 23
Location: Aotearoa (New Zealand)
PV.

Teamviewer is a program that lets another person, wherever on the planet, into your computer. (remote control another words) another program that does exactly the same is 'Log Me In'. The other person (obviously who you really trust) has complete control of your computer.

Jim, zl2bmh

_________________
Computer:W10 (updated from W7), 64bit, Quad Core, Intel i7 920 2.67Ghz , 12GB Ram, Nvidia GTX 570, 24" Widescreen 1080p full HD Monitor 1920 x 1080 Res.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 22, 2016 8:43 pm 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 8:56 pm
Posts: 23
Location: Aotearoa (New Zealand)
VRAMESH.

Thank you for your help on the matter. Looks like it can't be done. Never mind, hopefully someone may come up with a cunning plan.

zl2bmh :(

_________________
Computer:W10 (updated from W7), 64bit, Quad Core, Intel i7 920 2.67Ghz , 12GB Ram, Nvidia GTX 570, 24" Widescreen 1080p full HD Monitor 1920 x 1080 Res.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 23, 2016 1:27 am 
Offline
Senior Airman
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2014 1:07 am
Posts: 129
Location: Chennai, INDIA
Dear zl2bmh,
You're welcome!

Quote:
someone may come up with a cunning plan

Image
"...as cunning as a fox who's just been appointed Professor of Cunning at Oxford University"
:P

--
Vasanth

_________________
Veni, vidi, velcro

I came, I saw, I stuck around...


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group