The A2A Simulations Community

"Come share your passion for flight"
It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 1:57 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Windows 10 (Aaaaagh)
PostPosted: Thu Apr 28, 2016 9:11 am 
Offline
Airman Basic

Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 6:39 pm
Posts: 6
Tried loading from disc (2006?) in new comp with Win 10. Seemed to install ok until Direct x 9 tried to install. Error window - 'direct x 9 is not compatible with this computer' Also 'English language not working', and shuts BOB2 down
any suggestions ?
Regards to all


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Windows 10 (Aaaaagh)
PostPosted: Thu Apr 28, 2016 9:58 pm 
Offline
BDG
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2004 1:17 pm
Posts: 8754
Location: Oahu, Hawai'i
Some people can run BoBII with Wndows 10. Most get a CTD when exiting 3D play, though.

viewtopic.php?f=10&t=48817


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Windows 10 (Aaaaagh)
PostPosted: Fri Apr 29, 2016 3:50 am 
Offline
BDG
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2004 8:21 am
Posts: 5092
Location: wet coast, Canada
I think "directx 9 is not compatible with this computer"
is probably a lie, and can be loaded by clever deviousness,
though I don't know how. I suppose there is a possibility
that new video cards are being released that don't support
DX9 functions any more, but that seems unlikely given the
installed user base which would howl that their software
didn't run anymore.

Anyway, if it was the DX9 from the original boB2 disc, don't
bother with that, try the 2010 or 2011 web installer from
microsoft (I believe it is still available), as you need the
latest version anyway. The 2.13 patch install readme has details
on how to get it, I think ...that's something i should be able
to remember...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Windows 10 (Aaaaagh)
PostPosted: Fri Apr 29, 2016 5:46 am 
Offline
Airman Basic

Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 6:39 pm
Posts: 6
Hi Guys,
Many thanks will try your suggestions. (If I can resist the temptation to chuck this computer and Windows 10 out of the window.... :twisted: )
Regards


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Windows 10 (Aaaaagh)
PostPosted: Fri Apr 29, 2016 7:10 am 
Offline
Staff Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2010 4:29 pm
Posts: 343
Location: Madrid (Spain)
paulbanjo wrote:
Hi Guys,
Many thanks will try your suggestions. (If I can resist the temptation to chuck this computer and Windows 10 out of the window.... :twisted: )
Regards


The question is..."Do I need Windows 10?, does it provide me any feature that I canĀ“t get with windows 7?"

_________________
http://retro-android.blogspot.com.es/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Windows 10 (Aaaaagh)
PostPosted: Fri Apr 29, 2016 8:34 am 
Offline
Senior Airman
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2014 1:07 am
Posts: 129
Location: Chennai, INDIA
Quite likely that the answer is a resounding "No".
Their hope is that if they nag one enough times, eventually one would give in.

Quote:
If I can resist the temptation to chuck this computer and Windows 10 out of the window....

Why chuck a good computer? Just install an OS of your liking. Something that also likes BoB2?

Jokes aside, we need to make BoB2:WoV Win10 proof. Fast. But how?
--
Vasanth

_________________
Veni, vidi, velcro

I came, I saw, I stuck around...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Windows 10 (Aaaaagh)
PostPosted: Fri Apr 29, 2016 1:00 pm 
Offline
BDG
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2006 6:06 pm
Posts: 1774
vramesh wrote:

Jokes aside, we need to make BoB2:WoV Win10 proof. Fast. But how?
--
Vasanth


Thats the hub of the matter,most people are not as computer savvy [i am useless] and therefore they just want to install the game and fly,not rebuild an operating system they were sold when they updated their computer :(


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Windows 10 (Aaaaagh)
PostPosted: Sat Apr 30, 2016 11:06 am 
Offline
Senior Airman
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2014 1:07 am
Posts: 129
Location: Chennai, INDIA
Dear paulbanjo,

Have you tried PV's instructions?

Here is another game site that provides instructions on "back-door" Directx 9 installation:
http://www.dosgamers.com/directx-9-windows-10-windows-8
I haven't personally tried it as I don't have Win10 yet.

Also, here is a quote from a different site:https://obsproject.com/forum/threads/windows-10-directx-issue-will-not-install-obs.34516/

Quote:
I got it going. As I mentioned, Windows 10 will not install the 9.0C from the link because it is only compatible with versions up to Win7 (supposedly) and it terminated the install with that error message and provided a list of supported Windows versions. I happened to find some site that had all of the individual cabinet files and installed it back door which seemed to do the trick. I then installed OBS and it took.

So, I apologize for calling it a bug, however, it would be nice if we can perhaps build it with these issues in mind rather than having users troubleshoot all of this.


Any other volunteers?
If I can, I would. I think my younger brother finally gave in to Win10. I'll see if I can borrow his system for testing.
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Dear Trumper,

I can fully understand the user expectation to just install and fly. Also, that it is unreasonable to expect the user to build (change) an OS just to fly this sim. (I tried a poor joke. Plus, paul was about to chuck out a perfectly good system :P )

I am just wondering that if :

    either the "back-door" Directx 9c installation works,
    or installing DirectX 9c SDK would work,
    or if just copying a couple of dlls (some d3dx9_##.dll and/or d3dcompiler dll) into a specific folder (BoB2/system/system32/SysWoW64)

could solve this problem.

Then it is just a matter of integrating it into 2.14 installer.
Also, maybe the default mapping for exiting 3D could be reprogrammed from "Alt+x" to some other key-combination that doesn't *poke Win10 with a pointed stick*?

Even if any of the above did work on my brother's system, it would be on a system which was upgraded from a win7 to win 10. Not on a true out-of-the-box win10 system :-(
--
Vasanth

_________________
Veni, vidi, velcro

I came, I saw, I stuck around...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Windows 10 (Aaaaagh)
PostPosted: Thu Jul 14, 2016 7:27 pm 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2015 3:42 pm
Posts: 38
May i also suggest first trying the game without multiskin enabled in a windows 8/windows 10 environment


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group