The A2A Simulations Community

"Come share your passion for flight"
It is currently Tue Oct 17, 2017 1:47 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Jul 07, 2008 4:17 pm 
Offline
BDG
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2005 12:59 pm
Posts: 12312
Location: South East Texas, USA
For those interested in BOBII and are new to the forum, here is the latest manual (the version 2.10 manual is used for the 2.11 and 2.12 release as well):

DOWNLOAD:
http://www.a2asimulations.com/bob_dev/B ... _final.rar

Key items to review
1. Key Description Document -- Appendix H
2. Single Player Camapign (SPC) -- Chapter 4 Section C
3. BDG.txt -- Appendix A
4. Chapter 6 -- Multi Skin 2.10
5. Chapter 7 -- Multi Player Beta
As always, the installer will place the 2.10 User Manual in your BOBII folder in the Docs folder for your referrence as well.


A4/ Letter Formatted Manuals
http://www.a2asimulations.com/forum/vie ... 10&t=19864


CONTROLLERS SECTION EXPLAINED
http://www.a2asimulations.com/forum/vie ... =17&t=2241

_________________
Buddye

Intel I7 920 processor (2.66GHz, 8MB cache), 6GB DDR3 Triple Channel @1333MHz, 1.8GB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 295, Sound Blaster X-Fi PCI Sound Card, Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit , CH Fighter Stick & Pedals ,TrackIR4 Pro thanks to BobII crew.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 21, 2008 2:39 pm 
Offline
BDG
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2005 12:59 pm
Posts: 12312
Location: South East Texas, USA
A post I made on the General Forum concerning Campaign CTD and Savegame files which could help some others:

I am afraid that corrupted savegames have been an issue since I can remember for all releases of BOBII. We have always recommend starting your Campaigns over for a new release version of BOBII to prevent incompatabilities between the new EXE code and data and the old savegame. If are crashing in a windows program in your example (in module ntdll.dll ) which you can see on the first line of the crashlog you could be having this problem. We do not have windows source code so we are unable to review the crashlogs of windows programs CTD.

We are concerned about multi frags into the campaign (but we have no proof of a problem as yet). The BOBII 2D and 3D engines may be independent and the data is not coordinated between them, we think (but have not fully investigated). If we are correct and the 2D and 3D data is not coordinated and the 2D engine and 3D engine are indeed independent, then fraging into a single mission multi time may be a big problem for the code as what happens in 2D will not be understood in 3D and also the reverse.

The very best defense against a corrupted savegame file is to have a good savegame procedure so you can always go back and get around a bad savegame

_________________
Buddye

Intel I7 920 processor (2.66GHz, 8MB cache), 6GB DDR3 Triple Channel @1333MHz, 1.8GB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 295, Sound Blaster X-Fi PCI Sound Card, Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit , CH Fighter Stick & Pedals ,TrackIR4 Pro thanks to BobII crew.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 22, 2008 8:07 am 
Offline
BDG
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2005 12:59 pm
Posts: 12312
Location: South East Texas, USA
From Stickman:

1. Fighters failing to rendevous with bombers.

The problem is that bombers and escorts take off at the same time,
and the Fighter Rendevous Waypoint is far ahead of the Bomber Rendevous Waypoint.
The fighters race off to their rendevous point and charge ahead ignoring their chaperone duties!
The late arriving bombers are left alone to be molested by bad men!
Been so since Rowan release.

There is a workaround. Need to move the Fighter Rendevous Waypoint near to the Bomber Rendevous Waypoint.

Here is a typical situation with simple Recon mission, as assigned to you by the game when you first order it.
The white dot is the Fighter Rendevous Waypoint, Red dot is the Bomber Rendevous Waypoint, and the blue dot is the first Dogleg Waypoint.

Image

Notice that the distance between the Bomber Rendevous Waypoint, is equa-distant between bomber airfield and the first Dogleg Waypoint.
This seems to me to be important, as in my experience, if you drag the Fighter Rendevous Waypoint
and place it right over the Bomber Rendevous Waypoint, then they will form up in escort as desired.
Here, I have done so:

Image

If you place the Fighter Rendevous Waypoint closer to the first Dogleg Waypoint than the given Bomber Rendevous Waypoint is to it,
then your escorts will likely not form up as desired, and race ahead.
Even if you place the Fighter Rendevous Waypoint, as shown above, directly over the equa-distant Bomber Rendevous Waypoint,
in 2D map game play,you may see
the Fighters race ahead, but, they should pop back to the bombers soon after the bombers reach their rendevous waypoint.

I always save a Campaign just after ordering all my raids, and before I start the clock.
Then if I see any errant escorts racing ahead, not forming up, I can start over.
This helps early on, but with closely timed Consequetive or Coincidental planned missions, involving several raids,
some errant, unilateral, cowboy behaviuor may happen!

In this case they formed up as wished, and engaged the interceptors, getting in some first licks.

Image

Bomber rendevous waypoint is always given about equa-distant between first Dogleg and the bomber field.
If fighters are way far forward from an inland bomber group, you may wish to
drag the Bomber Rendevous WP back toward the field several miles, then drag the Fighter Rendevous WP right next to it.

_________________
Buddye

Intel I7 920 processor (2.66GHz, 8MB cache), 6GB DDR3 Triple Channel @1333MHz, 1.8GB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 295, Sound Blaster X-Fi PCI Sound Card, Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit , CH Fighter Stick & Pedals ,TrackIR4 Pro thanks to BobII crew.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 22, 2008 8:09 am 
Offline
BDG
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2005 12:59 pm
Posts: 12312
Location: South East Texas, USA
From Stickman:

2. Recon missions stop working as Recon, and DO17s assigned to Recon always act like bombers.

It happens when either you or the Directives try to issue ordes for a Recon and there are no more Do-17s available to fly the Recon mission.

The game will then assign the mission to a Stuka,He-111,Ju-88, or a Me-110.If you go ahead and fly the mission with one of these alternative planes then it's game over as far as recon missions are concerned. After this, any attempt to assign a recon will result in a bombing mission even if the mission folder lists it as a recon mission.There is no way to get the game to go back to setting up recons,that I have found.

This problem is most common the first couple of days into a campaign when you only have 3 gruppen of Do-17s to work with.
Rowan never modeled proper recon aircraft, so consider this KG 76 as my recon unit. I never use it for anything else because of this problem.

Only set up recons when there are Do-17s available as shown in the Resources folder.

This problem can also occur latter in the campaign if you have used the Do-17s heavily for bombing missions,used them all up,then try to assign a recon.

I never, ever, begin flying any mission until I check the mission folder first to make sure that no Recon missions have been assigned to any plane other than a Do-17.

This is one of the reasons I make a unique saved game at the start of each day.If I screw up this or something else goes bad then I don't have to trash the entire campaign.

_________________
Buddye

Intel I7 920 processor (2.66GHz, 8MB cache), 6GB DDR3 Triple Channel @1333MHz, 1.8GB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 295, Sound Blaster X-Fi PCI Sound Card, Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit , CH Fighter Stick & Pedals ,TrackIR4 Pro thanks to BobII crew.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 22, 2008 8:11 am 
Offline
BDG
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2005 12:59 pm
Posts: 12312
Location: South East Texas, USA
From Stickman:

3. Level bombers always seem to hit the same area on a target.

1. Use different bombing formation approaches to the target, that is, try approaching the target from different directions to place bombs on different areas of the target.

2. Try "bomb in trail" formation versus "level bomb" to place bombs differently.

_________________
Buddye

Intel I7 920 processor (2.66GHz, 8MB cache), 6GB DDR3 Triple Channel @1333MHz, 1.8GB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 295, Sound Blaster X-Fi PCI Sound Card, Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit , CH Fighter Stick & Pedals ,TrackIR4 Pro thanks to BobII crew.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 22, 2008 8:14 am 
Offline
BDG
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2005 12:59 pm
Posts: 12312
Location: South East Texas, USA
From Stickman:

5. Using Photo looks crashes me to desktop!

This is an old bug. We have tried stomping on this damned cucaracha, but he is as elusive as he is evil! :twisted:
It is related to Campaign screen resolution settings is all we know for sure.
For me, it has only happened when I choose Campaign resolution of 1280xWhatever. At higher or lower resolutions, it always has worked.

If you wish to view the Photos, and you CTD, then you must change your Campaign resolution setting to one that works.
Each new Campaign phase where I want to see the Photos, I change my normally preferred Campaign resolution of
1280x1024@75 to 1152x864@75, view the Photos, exit Campaign, change settings back to where I like them, Quit, and start the new phase normally.

This stinks, I know, and we are sorry that this cockroach is still in the house.

_________________
Buddye

Intel I7 920 processor (2.66GHz, 8MB cache), 6GB DDR3 Triple Channel @1333MHz, 1.8GB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 295, Sound Blaster X-Fi PCI Sound Card, Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit , CH Fighter Stick & Pedals ,TrackIR4 Pro thanks to BobII crew.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 22, 2008 8:16 am 
Offline
BDG
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2005 12:59 pm
Posts: 12312
Location: South East Texas, USA
From Wildman and Stickman:

Wildman...

Quote:
Also don't forget that detached fighters will NOT rendevous with the bomber, but go to the patrol start waypoint and move between patrol start and patrol end until they hit the RAF or bingo fuel.


"Roger that".

DETACHED escorts seem to be a waste of resources in this game.
I never assigne escorts as DETACHED.

I also know that someone will say that Galland and other German fighter officers,
thought that chaining fighters to bombers as escorts was bad tactics.
Better to have free roaming "Hunter-Killer" Staffeln.
Well, the LW game does not reflect these radical tactics, and we are slaved to Goering's orders, or ELSE!

If you do wish to assigne free DETACHED escorts, then you may be able to pounce upon some intercepting RAF, make a difference,
or kill them when thry are taking off or landing,
if you Frag into the DETACHED unit and take control as a LEADER.

2D DETACHED units will not help you, unless you lead them yourself in 3D.
Otherwise, they fly to Patrol WayPoints 2 or 3 times, go back home and play with your French ladies while you are getting your ass shot to pieces!

Image

_________________
Buddye

Intel I7 920 processor (2.66GHz, 8MB cache), 6GB DDR3 Triple Channel @1333MHz, 1.8GB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 295, Sound Blaster X-Fi PCI Sound Card, Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit , CH Fighter Stick & Pedals ,TrackIR4 Pro thanks to BobII crew.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 22, 2008 8:20 am 
Offline
BDG
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2005 12:59 pm
Posts: 12312
Location: South East Texas, USA
Tips, hints and advice for New beginers in Flight Sims, Novices, or parents/grandparents who want to help their kids/grandkids with starting on BOBII (start them when they are young approach 8) ) :!


I had a very frustrated Novice who purchased BOBII at another forum. This is the advice I offered him at the time. I offer this information here in hope some other BOBII interested Novice players or buyers will come along and read it.

Hi NOVICE, welcome to BOBII, and sorry for the disappointment and frustration. I have been there myself. I hope you will stick with it as the rewards are significant for player interested in history, WWII, A/C , flying, and BOB. The game simulates each and every day of the BOB in the campaign and you can play on either the RAF or LUF side but you must learn to fly, shoot, and "control" the game first.

The game has a learning curve even for the very experienced flight simulation players (100's of features and options with over 200 key commands) so controlling the game takes some focus,time, and effort. The features are explained in the Users Manual (located in the BOBII folder in the Docs folder) for the GUI (Graphic User's Interface), options in appendix A, and Keys in Appendix H. You will need to scan and read the User Manual (yes, it is big).

Take you time as we consider BOBII more of a hobby (if interested) than a simple game. We like to think of BOBII as "The BOB Time Machine" where you can get the closest feeling possible to a real life BOB pilot flying/fighting in the BOB which any simulation can provide the simulation customer.

Yes, a Newbie Guide would be outstanding but the game is being maintained and update by an all unpaid volunteer group called BDG (see other sticky threads for BDG information). We do not have the people to do another document. Most all information about the game is in the Users Manual but I do agree the information is not directed at the new flight Simulation player (biginner/newbie). Actually, in my experience all Flight Simulation games are that way.

I will give you a few tips but the best thing is for you to come to the A2A forum (if you are reading this then congrats you made it) and meet the community and ask questions. Our community is a G rated and very mature group of BOBII fans who will gladly help you with your questions, concerns or comments without judgement or comment. We actually welcome questions, comments and request.

BTW, I recommend reading all the sticky threads on both the technical forum and the General forum as they contain some very useful information.

Now for Buddye’s Newbie Tips (or BoBII for beginners). This is how I started my grandson out on BOBII but I hope that many of our outstanding BOBII players will add their Tips to this thread in the future.

First, try to set you game up for Novice.

Options->Sim , set flight model = Novice

Second, Go to your BOBII folder (where the game is installed) and find a file called the BDG.txt (Appendix A in the Users Manual). Double click on the Bdg.txt file to open, or open it with NotePad so you can edit it (be sure to save your edits). Find and set the following Bdg.txt parameters (use the find under the edit for Notepad):

Novice_AI=ON #Only valid in Instant Action missions
Novice_Target_Size=ON #Note: Larger target for easy kills (practice or testing)
Novice_Stronger_Bullets=ON #NOTE Only the player has the stronger bullets (not the AI)
Novice_Gunnery_Predictor=ON # NOTE Must padlock target to see predictor, switch to view F8 to practice

The Novice_Gunnery_Predictor will require you to padlock a target (the enter key is a toggle for ON/OFF padlock) but it will help you learn to shoot by showing the "lead" (a big red X to shoot at).

Stick to the Instant action Missions (Turkey Shoot, 1-on-1, and single fighter against single bomber) until you get comfortable with flying and shooting. It seems that most people keep interest if they are flying and killing AI A/C.

Then you can slowly back off the Novice setting one at a time.

BTW, if you are really not interested or you do not have the time for learning how to control BOBII then just trash all this information (and thread) and consider other games that interest you.

_________________
Buddye

Intel I7 920 processor (2.66GHz, 8MB cache), 6GB DDR3 Triple Channel @1333MHz, 1.8GB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 295, Sound Blaster X-Fi PCI Sound Card, Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit , CH Fighter Stick & Pedals ,TrackIR4 Pro thanks to BobII crew.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 03, 2010 7:47 pm 
Offline
Airman
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2010 5:43 am
Posts: 14
Location: EL CENTRO, CA
good advised I will follow it.. :)

_________________
" any failure you meet is never a defeat; merely a set up for a greater come back" Asus|i7x970|Corsair24gb1600|EVGA GTX680|SBTitanium7|Win7x64pro|ATX1200|TrackIr4Pro|SaitekpedalsPro|X52ThrottleCntrlr|
G15Keyboard|Ratz7Mouse|32"1080pLCD|


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 27, 2010 11:32 pm 
Offline
Airman Basic

Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2010 11:23 pm
Posts: 2
Hello,


I'm very interested in obtaining BoBII and running it, but I've noticed the warnings about whether one's systems can handle it. I'd like to make note of my PCs capabilities in hopes that I can get where I need to be.

Operating System
Windows XP Professional Service Pack 3 (build 2600)

Processor
2.60 gigahertz Intel Pentium Dual-Core
64 kilobyte primary memory cache
2048 kilobyte secondary memory cache

Main Circuit Board
Board: ASUSTeK Computer INC. P5KPL-CM
Bus Clock: 200 megahertz
BIOS: American Megatrends Inc. 0606 03/11/2009

Memory Modules
2040 Megabytes Installed Memory

Display
Intel(R) G33/G31 Express Chipset Family [Display adapter]
EMA e15t4 [Monitor] (14.9"vis, s/n 35B 50V 10278, November 2005)


The biggest problem I have is that the video capability is integrated to the motherboard.

Since this appears to be inadequate, even though it is rated as being direct 10x capable. It does have a PCI express slot available for an external card.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 28, 2010 7:49 am 
Offline
BDG
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2004 8:21 am
Posts: 5073
Location: wet coast, Canada
Yes, you will definitely require a vidcard. No one has ever reported success running a sim on one of those Intel integrated graphics systems. Your CPU model isn't specified, but it is likely to be relatively modest, as well, which means you will have to dial down some settings. However, as long as you have a good vidcard, and you'll find you'll want a joystick, as well, you should be able to get some relatively decent functionality. Then, if you acquire the addiction, you'll start looking at hardware upgrades to improve your experience. Flight sims are extremely demanding software, and to run on maximum settings will require a very cutting edge machine. (I don't have one, I don't try to operate at full settings. I'm happy to get middling performance, and every 4 or so years I get a new machine which allows me good performance for a while til the patches start to leave me behind again...)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 28, 2010 11:51 am 
Offline
Airman Basic

Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2010 11:23 pm
Posts: 2
Quote:
Yes, you will definitely require a vidcard. No one has ever reported success running a sim on one of those Intel integrated graphics systems. Your CPU model isn't specified, but it is likely to be relatively modest, as well, which means you will have to dial down some settings. However, as long as you have a good vidcard, and you'll find you'll want a joystick, as well, you should be able to get some relatively decent functionality. Then, if you acquire the addiction, you'll start looking at hardware upgrades to improve your experience. Flight sims are extremely demanding software, and to run on maximum settings will require a very cutting edge machine. (I don't have one, I don't try to operate at full settings. I'm happy to get middling performance, and every 4 or so years I get a new machine which allows me good performance for a while til the patches start to leave me behind again...)


The CPU is a Pentium dual core E5300 @ 2.6GHz. I'm getting a logitech 3D joystick to start with. DO you have any reccomendations on vidcards (type, and/or places to get it)?

Thanks for the help.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 28, 2010 6:47 pm 
Offline
BDG
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2005 12:59 pm
Posts: 12312
Location: South East Texas, USA
I do not make specific PC component recommendations.

Just get the best video card that you can (1) afford, and (2) be sure your card is compatible for your PC.

It is always very sad when we hear about a player buying a new video card and it is not compatible.

_________________
Buddye

Intel I7 920 processor (2.66GHz, 8MB cache), 6GB DDR3 Triple Channel @1333MHz, 1.8GB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 295, Sound Blaster X-Fi PCI Sound Card, Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit , CH Fighter Stick & Pedals ,TrackIR4 Pro thanks to BobII crew.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 13, 2012 6:32 am 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2010 11:03 am
Posts: 16
Location: Tamworth, New South Wales
Have Version 2.11 loaded and the Version 2.10 Manual now, thanks to Members.

Q: Does anyone know if the V 2.10 cover everything for BoB V2.11, or is there a V2.11 Manual also (to go with the update)?

From looking around, I expect 'No' to date.

Thanks in anticipation.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 13, 2012 2:06 pm 
Offline
BDG
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2005 12:59 pm
Posts: 12312
Location: South East Texas, USA
The 2.11 and 2.12 manual have not been done. Updating the manual take significant manpower and we just do not have a volunteer to do it. The changes to 2.11 and 2.12 will not be enough to require an manual update, IMHO.

_________________
Buddye

Intel I7 920 processor (2.66GHz, 8MB cache), 6GB DDR3 Triple Channel @1333MHz, 1.8GB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 295, Sound Blaster X-Fi PCI Sound Card, Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit , CH Fighter Stick & Pedals ,TrackIR4 Pro thanks to BobII crew.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group