The A2A Simulations Community

"Come share your passion for flight"
It is currently Sat Jan 20, 2018 3:52 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Need Some Help......
PostPosted: Mon Nov 14, 2005 7:30 pm 
Offline
Staff Sergeant

Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 3:09 pm
Posts: 286
I'm trying to update my butcher bird to V1.2. Problem: I keep getting a corrupt file in FS2004 folder and it won't auto install. I don't keep my fw190's in FS2004 file I have them in my golden wings folder. So basically I'm running two FS's. One for my modern aircraft and one for my vintage war birds. The corrupt file prompt recommends reinstalling FS2004. Which I'm very reluctant to do because I might lose/damage all my pareware/freeware birds! I just want to update my FW190 and not have to reinstall so many other aircraft. Please, any help!? Semper Fi, MudMarine


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 14, 2005 8:45 pm 
Offline
Senior Airman

Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2004 5:19 pm
Posts: 164
Mudmarine,

I think the problem is because you are trying to install it in a non-standard FS install.

I don't have GW3, but I had the same problem when I bought the WoP P51 a while back and could not figure out why I kept getting the same message as you as my stock install of FS9 was working fine!

However, the penny finally dropped when I realised that I had deleted the display.cfg file from my main FS9 folder, so I made a new 'dummy' one up and hey presto, it installed fine.

My guess is that some files from a standard FS9 install are missing and therefore the installer doesn't like it.

You may have to install the FW190 into your regular FS9 and then copy all the relevent files over to your GW install.

Cheers

Paul


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 14, 2005 9:26 pm 
Offline
Staff Sergeant

Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 3:09 pm
Posts: 286
I would have installed my FW190 files into my FS2004 but I can't find the installer :oops: My FS is standard, I didn't change anything in it. There just isn't a FW190 in it. The auto instalerl that comes with the update isn't allowing me to put V1.2 in any other folder but FS2004. I may have to copy the FW190 files for Golden Wings into FS now. It's all just a confusing mess that I created :( Thanks for the idea I'll look into it and see if it works. Semper Fi, MudMarine

PS If you like WWII birds go download Golden Wings! It's very sweet!

PPS I found the display file it's in there.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 14, 2005 10:07 pm 
Offline
Staff Sergeant

Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 3:09 pm
Posts: 286
I got it! I just put my aircraft files into FS2004. Clicked on the patch and it installed all is good in the world. Thanks MudMarine


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group