The A2A Simulations Community

"Come share your passion for flight"
It is currently Sun Jul 15, 2018 11:33 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2018 12:18 am 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 10:20 am
Posts: 11
Just purchased the T-6 for FSX today and installed it. Ran into an odd reaction when attempting an engine start; namely, whenever I push the starter pedal the prop starts to turn and then immediately the blades fold back over the cowl, looking as if I had just made a gear-up landing. Even if I open a T-6 in flight mode, the props spin around slowly with the blades folded back over the cowl....no power, no nothin'. Boom..on the ground! Strange behavior to say the least! :shock:

Wondering if this behavior is built in or am I doing something wrong or omitting doing something I should.
Must add here that I haven't had the opportunity to wade through the manual yet and check out procedures and I do plan to....but this is so unusual that I had to jump in and ask somebody about it. What gives, can anybody clue me in???
JonB :?: :?: :?:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2018 7:51 am 
Offline
Chief Master Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 02, 2013 7:30 pm
Posts: 3245
Location: Typically hanging around N07, 12N, KLDJ, KCDW
I would try fixing the prop in the maintenance hangar first and then try again to see if it breaks again.

Also, you have posted this question in the P51 forum. So it could get overlooked by accident.

_________________
Flight Simmer since 1983. Private Pilot
Paramus Flying Club http://www.flyingclub.org


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2018 10:59 am 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 10:20 am
Posts: 11
Oops! Sorry about the wrong forum. It was gettin' late and I didn't notice that I had the P-51 forum. :oops:

Thanks for the maint. shop tip. I'll give it a try. Really a screwy situation, huh!?!
JonB


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 04, 2018 7:24 am 
Offline
A2A Lieutenant Colonel
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 11:22 pm
Posts: 27705
Location: Beccles, Suffolk, UK
Yup sounds like you are trying to load a broken plane without repairing first in the maint hanger and checking the aircraft is fit for flight.

thanks,
Lewis - A2A

_________________
A2A Facebook for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Youtube because a video can say a thousand screenshots,..
A2A Simulations Twitter for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Simulations Community Discord for voice/text chat


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 04, 2018 8:00 am 
Offline
Senior Master Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2010 10:07 am
Posts: 1573
Location: Chelmsford, Essex, UK
It's worth remembering that if you leave the sim whilst in flight and gear up, you will start your next session in that state. This means you will have to put the thing up on jacks, use the hand pump to get the gear down then off of the jacks and you're then good to go. I've found this to my cost a few times! If you DO have to leave the sim quickly at least lower the gear first.

_________________
------------------------------------
Image
------------------------------------
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group