The A2A Simulations Community

"Come share your passion for flight"
It is currently Thu Nov 15, 2018 4:57 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Oct 12, 2018 4:31 pm 
Offline
Senior Airman

Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 4:06 pm
Posts: 228
Location: Lacey, Washington
My old brain is having a problem totally understanding the autopilot instructions in the manual pages 102 - 105.
They are very detailed and I am wondering if there is anything else, like a video or something, that may be easier to understand.

I hope this makes a little sense. If anyone has any ideas I would really appreciate them.

Thanks for any thoughts,

Tom


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 13, 2018 3:33 am 
Offline
A2A Mechanic
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 26, 2013 5:03 am
Posts: 3924
Hi Tom,

My intention is to do a kind of in-depth look into the autopilot's thinking, however, having a load of stuff going on plus had an unexpected illness disabling me for a good week, so I'm not sure atm when I'm able to get into it.

The autopilot in the Bonanza is actually pretty straightforward, is there any specific aspect that causes you some trouble?

-Esa


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 13, 2018 9:18 am 
Offline
Senior Airman

Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 4:06 pm
Posts: 228
Location: Lacey, Washington
AKar wrote:
Hi Tom,

My intention is to do a kind of in-depth look into the autopilot's thinking, however, having a load of stuff going on plus had an unexpected illness disabling me for a good week, so I'm not sure atm when I'm able to get into it.

The autopilot in the Bonanza is actually pretty straightforward, is there any specific aspect that causes you some trouble?

-Esa


Hi Esa,

Thanks for the reply. I think the whole thing was confusing me. But in looking around I found out I can install the Garmin 400 autopilot. I have had that for some time and have installed it. I just printed out the Quick Reference manual and will see how it goes. Age is just catching up with me and I am losing a lot of memory.

Sorry about your illness. Hope it wasn't something serious.

Thanks,

Tom


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2018 7:39 am 
Offline
Senior Airman

Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2015 8:52 am
Posts: 227
Hoping this helps and hoping I don't miss a step. It took me a few rounds to get the hang of the AP but here is how I use it now

1) Press the FD mode. I typically do this on the ground. Doing this initially really doesn't do much more than set a wing level reference and a pitch attitude reference. The AP is not actuating anything

2) After takeoff Press the AP engage button. This commands the AP to execute the condition referenced with the FD mode

3) Adjust rate of climb with the AP trim up/down buttons. This will change the reference of the FD mode. Note: I do not think you can use the yoke mounted trim up/down buttons at this time as I believe they will disengage the AP. Also note that the command is for degrees of pitch and is changed based on the length of time the AP trim up/trim down is held

4) Dial in a cruise altitude and press the ARM button on the altitude panel. With the AP already engaged the plane will climb at the pitch dictated by the FD reference until the desired altitude is met at which point it will level off and the ALT light will light up on the indicator panel. Alternatively, the current altitude can be selected just by pressing the ALT button which will ignore the dialed in value

5) To change altitude. Dial in the new desired altitude. Press the ALT button to disengage the ALT mode. Press ALT ARM by the altitude dial then use the AP trim up/trim down to reach the new altitude. Once this new altitude is reached it will level off and the ALT light will light up on the indicator panel

6) To command a specific heading Press the HDG button and change the heading with the heading bug. This mode activates immediately

7) To track a VOR radial, tune the radio to the desired channel. Dial in the desired tracking radial with the CRS knob. Press the NAV button which will ARM the NAV mode. If previously using the HDG mode, it will still be active and the HDG bug can be used to steer to the intercept course until the plane is within 3 deviation "dots" of the ordered NAV condition. At this point the NAV mode takes over and the VOR radial will be tracked. There may be a few oscillations to be dampened out depending upon how steep the intercept course was. Also if the plane was already within 3 deviation dots then the NAV mode will immediately take over as soon as the NAV button is pressed

8) APPROACH mode is essentially the same as NAV mode accept it involves and ILS or LOC and will direct both heading and altitude

9) To hand fly without disengaging the AP or the modes that have been ordered in the AP, press and hold the yoke mounted CWS button while hand flying and release to return to the AP

Hope this helps and hope I got this right. I believe this is the way I have been using it


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2018 8:37 am 
Offline
Staff Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2015 6:07 am
Posts: 351
Location: North Burgundy
AKar wrote:
Hi Tom,

My intention is to do a kind of in-depth look into the autopilot's thinking, however, having a load of stuff going on plus had an unexpected illness disabling me for a good week, so I'm not sure atm when I'm able to get into it.

The autopilot in the Bonanza is actually pretty straightforward, is there any specific aspect that causes you some trouble?

-Esa


Speedy recovery Esa.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2018 8:38 am 
Offline
Staff Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 27, 2005 8:03 pm
Posts: 492
Location: Kitsap Peninsula, WA
Nicely put Brett, thanks!

I use it the same exact way.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2018 9:20 am 
Offline
Staff Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2015 11:06 am
Posts: 449
Location: KMSV
Hi Brett,

Excellent write up...

I’ve all (commonly used) functions mapped via the a2a configurator...

A couple things I do a little differently - I set but don’t arm the altitude preselect - before takeoff - as this information is readily available before launch...

I don’t think you have to press altitude before an altitude change as I believe when you press the arm button that happens automatically... Then use the up/down button to set VS...

Regards,
Scott

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2018 10:47 am 
Offline
Senior Airman

Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2015 8:52 am
Posts: 227
That is exactly right Scott. I typically dial it in before hand as well and will usually ARM it right after takeoff. I was mainly trying to outline how the functions worked with a tinge of real flight progression. Also you are right with regards to the ALT button. If you have a desired altitude dialed in that you want to hit then don't hit the ALT button just use the ARM button next to the dial and the AP will take care of the rest. If you hit the ALT button instead the AP will think that you want your present altitude at the time of the press and ignore the dialed in value.

I have a handful of them programmed into my stick as well. I had initially preferred the AP for the Comanche for its simplicity and more hands-on approach but this one is growing on me a bit as I get more familiar and comfortable with it.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2018 5:30 pm 
Offline
Airman First Class

Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 11:11 pm
Posts: 59
BrettT wrote:
That is exactly right Scott. I typically dial it in before hand as well and will usually ARM it right after takeoff. I was mainly trying to outline how the functions worked with a tinge of real flight progression. Also you are right with regards to the ALT button. If you have a desired altitude dialed in that you want to hit then don't hit the ALT button just use the ARM button next to the dial and the AP will take care of the rest. If you hit the ALT button instead the AP will think that you want your present altitude at the time of the press and ignore the dialed in value.

I have a handful of them programmed into my stick as well. I had initially preferred the AP for the Comanche for its simplicity and more hands-on approach but this one is growing on me a bit as I get more familiar and comfortable with it.


I think what Scott was getting at is that pressing the ARM button deactivates the ALT mode if it is currently engaged. If you are changing altitudes you don't need to manually deselect the ALT mode if you are arming another altitude.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2018 10:20 pm 
Offline
Senior Airman

Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2015 8:52 am
Posts: 227
Thanks Joe and Scott! That is absolutely correct. I love learning something new :D


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group