The A2A Simulations Community

"Come share your passion for flight"
It is currently Thu Nov 15, 2018 4:55 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2018 5:34 pm 
Online
Senior Airman

Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2015 3:20 am
Posts: 137
Hi all,

I was lucky enough to have been able to acquire the C172 and the Bo at the same time.

On the default P3Dv4 airport (KVPS) runway 19:

1) By default, the heading indicator of the C172 is not set. So I pass the mouse over the magnetic compass and read "195" thanks to the tooltip feature, then set the heading indicator accordingly.

2) By default, the HSI of the Bo reads "195" right away after loading ?!?! No need to set it. Why is that please?

_________________
P3Dv4.3 : V35B - C172 - FSUIPC 5 - FSTramp - Chase Plane - ASP4
Hardware : i5 4670K @4.3 Ghz - 16 Gb DDR3 - GTX 1080 8 Gb - 2K @165 Hz G-Sync - Win 7 x64
HOTAS : Microsoft Force Feedback 2 modded with CH Fighterstick - VKB Sim T-Rudder Mk.IV Pedals


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2018 6:32 pm 
Offline
Senior Airman

Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 4:13 pm
Posts: 173
That is the correct behaviour for the Bonanza, basically the HSI automatically corrects itself- I forget the technical details, but I did read it here somewhere in the forums. :wink:

Paul

_________________
i7-6700k | Asus Maximus VIII Hero | 32GB Corsair Vengence (LED) DDR4 3000MHz (15-17-17-35) | Asus Strix GTX 1070 OC | Corsair H115i | Samsung V-Nano 950 Pro M.2 NVM Express (256GB) | Corsair Obsidian 750D Airflow Full Tower


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2018 7:06 pm 
Online
Senior Airman

Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2015 3:20 am
Posts: 137
Oh! Nice to see you in this thread Blitzer :)

Understood.

Thanks.

_________________
P3Dv4.3 : V35B - C172 - FSUIPC 5 - FSTramp - Chase Plane - ASP4
Hardware : i5 4670K @4.3 Ghz - 16 Gb DDR3 - GTX 1080 8 Gb - 2K @165 Hz G-Sync - Win 7 x64
HOTAS : Microsoft Force Feedback 2 modded with CH Fighterstick - VKB Sim T-Rudder Mk.IV Pedals


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 24, 2018 1:01 am 
Offline
A2A Mechanic
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 26, 2013 5:03 am
Posts: 3924
Simicro wrote:
2) By default, the HSI of the Bo reads "195" right away after loading ?!?! No need to set it. Why is that please?
The HSI can be slaved to the magnetic heading when the slaved/free gyro selector is set appropriately. It would require electrical power to align correctly, as the heading card is driven by a stepper motor. Therefore it would not indicate correctly on a non-powered airplane that has been moved since it was powered down.

-Esa


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 24, 2018 4:39 am 
Online
Senior Airman

Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2015 3:20 am
Posts: 137
Hello ESA,

Many thanks. Interesting.

I did not see a "slaved/free gyro selector" on the Bo?

_________________
P3Dv4.3 : V35B - C172 - FSUIPC 5 - FSTramp - Chase Plane - ASP4
Hardware : i5 4670K @4.3 Ghz - 16 Gb DDR3 - GTX 1080 8 Gb - 2K @165 Hz G-Sync - Win 7 x64
HOTAS : Microsoft Force Feedback 2 modded with CH Fighterstick - VKB Sim T-Rudder Mk.IV Pedals


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 24, 2018 4:46 am 
Offline
Senior Airman
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 12:49 pm
Posts: 227
Simicro wrote:
I did not see a "slaved/free gyro selector" on the Bo?


P. 93 of the manual, item #16.


Gesendet von iPhone mit Tapatalk

_________________
Using Tapatalk

Image
http://oliversflightsimming.blogspot.de


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 24, 2018 4:49 am 
Online
Senior Airman

Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2015 3:20 am
Posts: 137
Thanks Oliver, I'll read that.

_________________
P3Dv4.3 : V35B - C172 - FSUIPC 5 - FSTramp - Chase Plane - ASP4
Hardware : i5 4670K @4.3 Ghz - 16 Gb DDR3 - GTX 1080 8 Gb - 2K @165 Hz G-Sync - Win 7 x64
HOTAS : Microsoft Force Feedback 2 modded with CH Fighterstick - VKB Sim T-Rudder Mk.IV Pedals


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 25, 2018 5:11 am 
Offline
A2A Captain
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2014 1:06 pm
Posts: 7605
Location: United Kingdom
Simicro,

Yes, the slaved or free mode of the KI-525A HSI is controlled via the separate KA 51B slaving meter (mounted below the altitude selector in the Bonanza). For normal operation, keep the switch in the 'slave' position and the unit will adjust itself for gyro drift using a separate magnetic sensor.

Thanks,
Nick


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 25, 2018 2:25 pm 
Online
Senior Airman

Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2015 3:20 am
Posts: 137
Clear, thank you Nick.

_________________
P3Dv4.3 : V35B - C172 - FSUIPC 5 - FSTramp - Chase Plane - ASP4
Hardware : i5 4670K @4.3 Ghz - 16 Gb DDR3 - GTX 1080 8 Gb - 2K @165 Hz G-Sync - Win 7 x64
HOTAS : Microsoft Force Feedback 2 modded with CH Fighterstick - VKB Sim T-Rudder Mk.IV Pedals


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 25, 2018 5:18 pm 
Offline
Staff Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 23, 2014 12:50 pm
Posts: 425
Location: KPUW
I was curious about these myself so I did some poking around. I found this: http://www.flight-mechanic.com/gyroscop ... g-compass/

If you can make sense of it, please let me know :mrgreen:

Now if we could just figure out how the Simulated Elevator Force thingamajig works :wink:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 26, 2018 9:33 am 
Offline
A2A Mechanic
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 26, 2013 5:03 am
Posts: 3924
ClipperLuna wrote:
I was curious about these myself so I did some poking around. I found this: http://www.flight-mechanic.com/gyroscop ... g-compass/

If you can make sense of it, please let me know :mrgreen:
That's a little bit curiously written little article, anyways, flux gates are basic sensors used particularly in small and medium-sized airplanes, among the others. It works by detecting the collapsing and recovering of the Earth's magnetic flux that is "gated" through the core by saturating and un-saturating it repeatedly. Essentially, when the core material is not saturated by the excitation current, it provides a local preferred path for the Earth's magnetic field, concentrating a higher flux value than in free space. When the core material is saturated, it will not provide that preferred path anymore, so the Earth's field passes around it somewhat like it would without the material being in place, thus collapsing the component of the Earth's field through the core. The changes of this component as it collapses and recovers are detected as voltage spikes induced into the sense coil, whereas the much larger changes caused by the excitation current are not as they are routed through the sense coil twice, but in opposite directions, cancelling out.

What's more complex is the electromechanical artwork used to make these pictorial navigation instruments work. These things are very complicated and very often use some rather clever tricks to achieve some desired functions which would be easy to take for granted as some simple needle or flag movements. They are quite fascinating, actually. :)

-Esa


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 26, 2018 9:45 am 
Offline
Staff Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2015 11:06 am
Posts: 449
Location: KMSV
Hi Folks,

Great write up Esa - how it worked was beyond the scope of my knowledge - thanks...

I’ve got the slaved Century - NSD-1000 - it has a separate power switch (the HSI itself is vacuum powered) on my panel and will maintain the compass setting input at the beginning of the flight - but it has to be set before each flight as it doesn’t automatically slew to the correct compass setting... I don’t know if the BK version behaves differently...

Regards,
Scott


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: 6mille, Mazo, Simicro and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group