The A2A Simulations Community

"Come share your passion for flight"
It is currently Fri Sep 22, 2017 5:22 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Mar 20, 2017 8:08 pm 
Offline
Senior Airman

Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2013 8:27 pm
Posts: 247
Hi,

I was just wondering if A2A may consider adding a mounted default GPS unit to the cockpit of the Connie? While I have no real issue with the one that has been provided, I just thought it would be a nice option to keep the original look of the cockpit but also have a means of using GPS.

Also, after seeing a few videos of the Connie at sunset/night time, I was wondering if the landing light effect on the spinning props can be added at some point in the future?

_________________
Image
Image
Image
M.Carter
Private Pilot


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 21, 2017 12:22 am 
Offline
A2A Aviation Consultant
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 12:06 pm
Posts: 1912
Location: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA
Please open the A2A Aircraft Configurator and select "GPS 400". This is the default FSX GPS.

As for the lighting on the props - this is an FSX issue and limitation and not possible with the way that FSX handles lighting.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 21, 2017 5:24 am 
Offline
Senior Airman

Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2015 8:37 am
Posts: 117
I really do not understand why A2A gave us default landing lights for such a nice bird ... ?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 21, 2017 6:37 am 
Offline
Senior Airman

Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2013 8:27 pm
Posts: 247
CAPFlyer wrote:
Please open the A2A Aircraft Configurator and select "GPS 400". This is the default FSX GPS.

As for the lighting on the props - this is an FSX issue and limitation and not possible with the way that FSX handles lighting.


I'm not referring to the GPS 400 that's mounted in the center of the glareshield. I am referring to a mounted GPS unit such as the GPS MAP 295. That's why I mention it would at least keep the original look of the cockpit.

As for the props reflecting the landing lights, it is possible
Image

_________________
Image
Image
Image
M.Carter
Private Pilot


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 21, 2017 9:31 am 
Offline
A2A Aviation Consultant
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 12:06 pm
Posts: 1912
Location: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA
I'd love to see how they're doing that because FSX can't process a fixed light splash on a rotating texture. Remember, that prop disk is a texture being rotated, not an actual animated model.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 21, 2017 9:50 pm 
Offline
Senior Airman

Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2015 8:37 am
Posts: 117
So how Majestic done that ?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 29, 2017 10:38 am 
Offline
A2A Lieutenant Colonel
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 11:22 pm
Posts: 25598
Location: Lowestoft Suffolk UK
Artur wrote:
I really do not understand why A2A gave us default landing lights for such a nice bird ... ?


engine limitations in the sim, your only allow x amount of say polys for an aircraft, y amount of animations, z amount of texture types etc etc. Its up to us to full the bucket as best we can, for the connie we have the whole career system and captain of the ship with AI, but whatever we do the bucket size remains the same for many things.

thanks,
Lewis

_________________
A2A Facebook for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Youtube because a video can say a thousand screenshots,..
My twitter for my own twitter and random A2A insights
My Twitch for my own twitch live streaming


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 06, 2017 5:44 pm 
Offline
Airman First Class
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2013 9:55 am
Posts: 83
Location: UK
Artur wrote:
So how Majestic done that ?


I think that's FSFX Old Prop Solutions, add on effects package. They do them for the Mjc Dash 8, NGX, Aerosoft Bus and the FSW Learjet. Also do Precipitationfx.

I think their effects override the models effects?

The Connie is beautiful as she is, don't know if they are considering it for an add on?

Cheers.

David

_________________
ImageImage
ImageImage
https://www.youtube.com/user/Herky231


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 07, 2017 10:10 am 
Offline
Senior Airman

Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2013 8:27 pm
Posts: 247
Actually the prop light effect on the Q400 is a default effect that comes with the aircraft. The FSFX package enhances other lights and effects

_________________
Image
Image
Image
M.Carter
Private Pilot


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Ifikratis and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group