The A2A Simulations Community

"Come share your passion for flight"
It is currently Thu Nov 23, 2017 9:05 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Oct 17, 2017 2:40 pm 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2017 5:39 pm
Posts: 34
Loving the T-6. Lots of fun to fly. The only issue I have so far is the generator switch is always in the on position when I first load a T-6 flight. I always shut off the generator before exiting a flight, yet the generator switch is always on again whenever I load a new flight.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 3:53 am 
Offline
Technical Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2015 1:59 pm
Posts: 819
Location: LBSF
Hi,

I can confirm, I tested on my T6 yesterday on FSX:Acceleration - generator switch is ON upon flight load. I think, I've read somewhere, may be in the manual that it is a practice the generator to be left on the T6es. May be that is why A2A left it there.

Cheerz,
Will

_________________
Cub, Mustang, Skyhawk, Cherokee, Skylane, Texan
Flying Fortress


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 4:25 am 
Offline
Technical Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2011 2:11 am
Posts: 836
Location: Germany
Can't check at the moment, but one thought: Do you use auto cold & dark mode? You can check in shift + 3 panel.
In this case, generator should be on after loading the plane.
You can try with auto c & d off and saving flight with generator off.

_________________
"Give me a ping, Vasili. One ping only, please."


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 6:18 am 
Offline
Technical Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2015 1:59 pm
Posts: 819
Location: LBSF
Good idea gulredrel,

I did no try cold & dark start. I left the generator in the T6 OFF and after flight restart again - it was in ON position. I believe that what Slow Low ment in his original post. The aircraft does not remember this one switch position from previous flight.

Cheerz,
Will

_________________
Cub, Mustang, Skyhawk, Cherokee, Skylane, Texan
Flying Fortress


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 7:17 am 
Offline
Technical Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 12:53 pm
Posts: 637
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
The switch defaults to on position since it is not turned off in the real aircraft,

_________________
P3D Version 3.4
ATC by VATSIM and PF3

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 9:28 am 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2017 5:39 pm
Posts: 34
I haven't tried the Cold and Dark shutdown, as I always shut down manually. I have real switches in my sim cockpit. I follow the checklist. All electrical switches get turned off after shutdown, just as if I were flying a real airplane.

I respectfully disagree that the T-6 generator switch is supposed to be left in the ON position. Every checklist that I have ever used for the T-6 states to make sure GENERATOR OFF before engine start and to set all electrical switches off after shutdown. Even the A2A Engine starting checklist item 13 says to Turn Generator ON after the engine starts, ergo it must be OFF prior to start. Also the shutdown checklist item 7 says to Turn OFF all electrical switches. The generator switch is an electrical switch.

You can find several actual T-6 checklists on line. Every one I have perused stipulates Generator OFF prior to engine start. You may wish to watch the following T-6 checklist video beginning at 2:33. You will hear the pilot clearly say "Generator OFF" as he goes through the pre-start checklist: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TOm3zFu2uKA


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 10:33 am 
Offline
Master Sergeant

Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 10:48 am
Posts: 1149
Location: Oksbøl, Denmark
I find it very hard to believe the video is for a North American T-6 Texan, could be a T-6 Texan II though, but I don't think the checklists are the same ;-)
Here's a Kermie Cam Video: https://youtu.be/gAHNnHBBJT8?t=3m10s

_________________
Kind Regards
Tomas

Accu-Sim aircraft in my hangar:
C172, C182, P51 Civ, P51 Mil, B17, Spitfire, P47, B377 COTS, J3 Cub, T6, Connie


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 10:58 am 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2017 5:39 pm
Posts: 34
Maybe you are right about the T-6 generator switch being left on after shutdown, but with over twenty years experience as an aircraft electrician and avionics specialist (61- 82) who has started and run dozens of varieties of military and civil aircraft engines by the book, I have never started one that leaves the generator switch in the ON position after engine shutdown. However, I do like to fly by the book, and I want to make sure I have the right book. If you could point me to the T-6 checklist that says to leave the generator switch ON after shutdown, I would appreciate it. Thanks for the point to the video showing that at least one T-6 pilot always leaves his generator switch on, but he isn't using a checklist. I'm kind of old-fashioned and like to go through a real checklist.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 11:40 am 
Offline
A2A Chief Pilot
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2009 8:31 am
Posts: 4274
Location: East Coast United States
Slow Low wrote:
Maybe you are right about the T-6 generator switch being left on after shutdown, but with over twenty years experience as an aircraft electrician and avionics specialist (61- 82) who has started and run dozens of varieties of military and civil aircraft engines by the book, I have never started one that leaves the generator switch in the ON position after engine shutdown. However, I do like to fly by the book, and I want to make sure I have the right book. If you could point me to the T-6 checklist that says to leave the generator switch ON after shutdown, I would appreciate it. Thanks for the point to the video showing that at least one T-6 pilot always leaves his generator switch on, but he isn't using a checklist. I'm kind of old-fashioned and like to go through a real checklist.


Normal procedure in the G is to leave the Gen switch in the ON position. I can attest that this does indeed appear in the Dash 1 for the G.
We also flew an SNJ-5. I left the switch in the ON position in that aircraft as well.
I don't believe there is any electrical reason for this option other than the linkage in the circuit during engine start.
Dudley Henriques


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 11:57 am 
Offline
Technical Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 12:53 pm
Posts: 637
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Here is someone starting up a T6. and you can see that immediately after battery switch is turned on, the Gen switch is turned on. So there is really no reason to ever have to turn it off and pilots don't. https://www.aopa.org/news-and-media/all ... -6-harvard

_________________
P3D Version 3.4
ATC by VATSIM and PF3

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 4:36 pm 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2017 5:39 pm
Posts: 34
O.K. Thanks everyone for the great feedback. I really appreciate getting the straight scoop from men who have actually been in the cockpit in question. The video I pointed to earlier was indeed for a T-6 II. My stupidity.

So it seems it is OK to turn the generator on and leave it on during the T-6 engine start. Live and learn.

Still the problem remains that between flights the generator switch on the A2A Accu-Sim T-6 inevitably reverts to the ON position even if it is set to OFF before exiting a flight. It wouldn't bother me if I moused switches, but I have a sim cockpit with physical switches. When I set the generator switch off before I exit a flight I expect the generator switch to still be off the next time I load that airplane. Can we get a fix?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 6:00 pm 
Offline
A2A Chief Pilot
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2009 8:31 am
Posts: 4274
Location: East Coast United States
Slow Low wrote:
O.K. Thanks everyone for the great feedback. I really appreciate getting the straight scoop from men who have actually been in the cockpit in question. The video I pointed to earlier was indeed for a T-6 II. My stupidity.

So it seems it is OK to turn the generator on and leave it on during the T-6 engine start. Live and learn.

Still the problem remains that between flights the generator switch on the A2A Accu-Sim T-6 inevitably reverts to the ON position even if it is set to OFF before exiting a flight. It wouldn't bother me if I moused switches, but I have a sim cockpit with physical switches. When I set the generator switch off before I exit a flight I expect the generator switch to still be off the next time I load that airplane. Can we get a fix?


I believe we programmed that switch to reflect it's Dash 1 requirement for ON with our T6 in a cold and dark state.
I think what might be happening in your case is simply our A2A software returning the switch to it's normal position at ON during the cold and dark process that occurs between your engine shutdown, exiting the sim, then bringing up the T6 for another flight. If you have C&D selected, when the T6 comes up fresh for the next flight, WE at A2A have put the switch back to the ON position for you.
So what you are seeing is a perfectly normal cockpit all set up for you to start throwing switches...........except the GEN switch.
You might find the situation less stressful if you simply leave the switch ON. If you do that, our gremlins are instructed to leave you alone and in peace. LOL
Dudley Henriques


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 6:50 pm 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2017 5:39 pm
Posts: 34
I think the cold and dark state is fine to use if you are in a hurry. But I am not in a hurry to fly right away or shut down right away. I am trying to fly right and follow real-world checklists. I use A2A checklists when I don't have a real-world one on my knee board. I believe the generator switch should remain where a pilot sets it. If he or she wants to set it to OFF it should remain OFF between flights just like other switches. Having it default to ON may be a small convenience to those who use the cold and dark switch, but it is a real inconvenience for those of us whose cockpits have physical switches, particularly when we fly multiple A2A airplanes. My bad back precludes me from flying ever again, so the reclining sim I a have been building is meant to replicate the entire flying experience as closely as possible. Having a switch behave badly ruins the immersion factor for me. I loved it when the battery was dead on my Cessna 182 because I forgot to turn off the electronics after a flight. I said what a bunch of programming geniuses and great artists A2A has woking under its roof to make these airplanes seem so real! Now I say if you want to make it real you have to keep it real. Please don't you geniuses settle for anything less than real as possible. Please give us switches that stay where we put them, just like physical switches.

Thanks for listening to my 2 cents worth, and thanks again for the great airplanes.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 6:59 pm 
Offline
A2A Chief Pilot
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2009 8:31 am
Posts: 4274
Location: East Coast United States
Slow Low wrote:
I think the cold and dark state is fine to use if you are in a hurry. But I am not in a hurry to fly right away or shut down right away. I am trying to fly right and follow real-world checklists. I use A2A checklists when I don't have a real-world one on my knee board. I believe the generator switch should remain where a pilot sets it. If he or she wants to set it to OFF it should remain OFF between flights just like other switches. Having it default to ON may be a small convenience to those who use the cold and dark switch, but it is a real inconvenience for those of us whose cockpits have physical switches, particularly when we fly multiple A2A airplanes. My bad back precludes me from flying ever again, so the reclining sim I a have been building is meant to replicate the entire flying experience as closely as possible. Having a switch behave badly ruins the immersion factor for me. I loved it when the battery was dead on my Cessna 182 because I forgot to turn off the electronics after a flight. I said what a bunch of programming geniuses and great artists A2A has woking under its roof to make these airplanes seem so real! Now I say if you want to make it real you have to keep it real. Please don't you geniuses settle for anything less than real as possible. Please give us switches that stay where we put them, just like physical switches.

Thanks for listening to my 2 cents worth, and thanks again for the great airplanes.


I think I understand what you are saying but not the logic behind it. We have programmed the T6 to reflect the real world condition for cold and dark. This assumes the pilot has shut the plane down as recommended by the Dash 1. Within that logic the correct thing for you to do with your Gen switch either in the sim or even in a simpit would be to leave that switch in the ON position.
So if realism is your goal you have it already. If you turn the GEN switch OFF you are in fact leaving real world immersion for the T6 and by turning the switch OFF engaging in an immersion "detour".
You can do that if you wish but just be aware the program is correct with the switch ON for the T6.
Sorry about your back. I have similar issues myself.
DH


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 8:26 pm 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2017 5:39 pm
Posts: 34
Am I to understand that by defaulting the generator switch to ON you are trying to keep silly villain pilots from deviating from an SOP?

Why don't you change the A2A T-6 on-screen checklists to reflect the proper procedure; i.e. delete "Generator ON" from item 13 of the current A2A T-6 startup checklist, and add "Generator ON" somewhere before engine start, and change the shutdown checklist to read "shut off all electrical switches except generator" and give pilots full control of the switches. Let us pilots set the switches and let them stay where we set them, even if we set them wrong. We learn from our mistakes. Let us make them.

I seriously doubt they safety wire the generator switch to ON in the real T-6. Please don't safety wire (default) the generator switch to ON in the sim T-6. Pretty please :) I'd much rather have an engine quit and I crash because the battery goes dead if I make an error in setting the generator switch to ON than have the switch set for me. When a programmer defaults any switches he is effectively doing the pilot's thinking for him and the pilot learns nothing. If a pilot leaves a switch ON or OFF in a real airplane and locks the cabin door, the chances are pretty damn good the switch will be in the same position as he left it when he gets back in the airplane a day later. If he ignores the check list and doesn't set switches properly on this flight too he will suffer the consequences of his errors. If you default any switch so it automatically complies to a set procedure, while in reality said switch could accidentally or intentionally be set improperly, the pilot will learn nothing. Do you see what I mean? A sim should behave like a real airplane, i.e. pone to pilot errors.

I am seriously sorry about your back problems . . . but let's not get started on that . . . still you ought to see the Jerry rig I have constructed for a cockpit . . . might give you some pain relieving ideas.


Last edited by Slow Low on Fri Oct 20, 2017 12:11 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group