The A2A Simulations Community

"Come share your passion for flight"
It is currently Sat Nov 18, 2017 2:24 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: GPS/NAV toggle
PostPosted: Sun Nov 12, 2017 12:39 am 
Offline
Technical Sergeant

Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2004 2:50 pm
Posts: 565
I have no problems using the autopilot and GNS 400 in the Comanche except that I would like to have the GPS/Nav toggle operated from the key board instead of mouse clicking it. I have a key set for the toggle but it doesn't operate the toggle, so how do I do this?

_________________
Some old computer stuff, some A2A airplanes, some Orbx scenery, and that's about it. I forget exactly what.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GPS/NAV toggle
PostPosted: Tue Nov 14, 2017 4:50 am 
Offline
Chief Master Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2014 1:06 pm
Posts: 5089
Hello Steve - can't recall if you use registered FSUIPC, but looks like that's what's needed to assign this function to a keystroke in the Comanche. More info on this here.

Thanks,
Nick


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GPS/NAV toggle
PostPosted: Tue Nov 14, 2017 1:29 pm 
Offline
Technical Sergeant

Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2004 2:50 pm
Posts: 565
Thinks Nick. I thought that might be the case. I do have a registered copy but never got into it much. I guess it's time to learn something new.

_________________
Some old computer stuff, some A2A airplanes, some Orbx scenery, and that's about it. I forget exactly what.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GPS/NAV toggle
PostPosted: Tue Nov 14, 2017 3:59 pm 
Offline
Chief Master Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2014 1:06 pm
Posts: 5089
If you're not too keen on the more complex aspects of FSUIPC Steve, the free LINDA add-on to FSUIPC may be worth a look for assigning controls such as this one: http://fs-linda.com/.

Nick


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GPS/NAV toggle
PostPosted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 11:20 pm 
Offline
Technical Sergeant

Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2004 2:50 pm
Posts: 565
I have spent close to 8 hours trying to make this work with no progress what so ever. My problem seems to be that what I am trying to do is way too simple for FSUIPC4 or Linda or even Lua. What I am trying to do is the simplest possible thing that can be done with one of the most common controls in FSX. All I want is to have the Nav/GPS toggle move with one key stroke. If I can make that work then I can build up from there. There is a native command in FSUIPC "Toggle-GPS drives Nav 1". it does not seem to do anything. Nor will FSUIPC recognize any of my attempts to create a Micro no matter what file extension I use.

I'm going to go sand some balsa wood.

_________________
Some old computer stuff, some A2A airplanes, some Orbx scenery, and that's about it. I forget exactly what.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GPS/NAV toggle
PostPosted: Thu Nov 16, 2017 12:23 am 
Offline
Technical Sergeant

Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2004 2:50 pm
Posts: 565
Well I finally got FSUIPC to list my Macro, but it still doesn't do anything. Here is my Macro:

[MACROS]
1=L:GpsNavSelector=TOG

_________________
Some old computer stuff, some A2A airplanes, some Orbx scenery, and that's about it. I forget exactly what.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GPS/NAV toggle
PostPosted: Thu Nov 16, 2017 12:49 am 
Offline
Technical Sergeant

Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2004 2:50 pm
Posts: 565
Here is something odd. When FSUIPC lists my Macro it changes the text to 1comanche: L:GpsNavSelector Tgl
Not sure what to do about that.

_________________
Some old computer stuff, some A2A airplanes, some Orbx scenery, and that's about it. I forget exactly what.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GPS/NAV toggle
PostPosted: Thu Nov 16, 2017 1:19 am 
Offline
Technical Sergeant

Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2004 2:50 pm
Posts: 565
Well, finally SUCCESS! I had to put the Macro under a Comanche profile in FSUIPC, and it only took 8 hours of trial and error.

_________________
Some old computer stuff, some A2A airplanes, some Orbx scenery, and that's about it. I forget exactly what.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GPS/NAV toggle
PostPosted: Thu Nov 16, 2017 3:16 am 
Offline
Chief Master Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2014 1:06 pm
Posts: 5089
Glad you got it sorted in the end Steve and sorry to hear it was a bit of a struggle. I'd have chimed-in sooner but your posts were between 4am and 6am UK time! :)

The text macros should work just fine without having to use an aircraft-specific profile so not sure what the issue was in your case. The bit you mentioned where the FSUIPC UI shows "L:GpsNavSelector Tgl" is normal.

Cheers,
Nick


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GPS/NAV toggle
PostPosted: Thu Nov 16, 2017 6:28 pm 
Offline
Technical Sergeant

Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2004 2:50 pm
Posts: 565
Nick,
Its one way to learn new things. I have FSX really working well now on a system that is old and most would call mid or low level. Its very smooth with good frame rates. A big visual add on was the Scenery fixer with cloud shadows. Now that I have broken into FSUIPC I am going to get into re-doing my other controls will no doubt require more flaming.

_________________
Some old computer stuff, some A2A airplanes, some Orbx scenery, and that's about it. I forget exactly what.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group