The A2A Simulations Community

"Come share your passion for flight"
It is currently Mon Sep 24, 2018 5:32 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Missing Sounds
PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2018 9:55 pm 
Offline
Airman Basic

Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2014 11:29 pm
Posts: 8
Location: Rockford, IL USA
I just reloaded the 182, Comanche and AT-6 onto my new computer and found that when in the cockpit I cannot hear the engine sound. I hear it fine if I move outside the plane. What am I missing?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Missing Sounds
PostPosted: Tue Feb 20, 2018 5:22 am 
Offline
Master Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2015 1:59 pm
Posts: 1145
Location: LBSF
Hi,

Check under 'Shift+3' pop-up menu at the bottom left, if the volume is not too low.

Cheerz,
Will

_________________
Bonanza Skylane Skyhawk Cherokee Cub
Texan Mustang Spitfire
Flying Fortress


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Missing Sounds
PostPosted: Tue Feb 20, 2018 5:25 am 
Offline
A2A Captain
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2014 1:06 pm
Posts: 7071
Location: United Kingdom
The internal (Accu-Sim) sounds play through your default Windows audio device, so please also make sure this is plugged in and switched on. (This may be different to the device you have assigned to other sounds in the sim itself.)

If you can give us a bit more info about your host sim platform and hardware, it'll be easier to help.

Thanks,
Nick


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Missing Sounds
PostPosted: Tue Feb 20, 2018 4:33 pm 
Offline
Airman Basic

Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2014 11:29 pm
Posts: 8
Location: Rockford, IL USA
I have a great OMEN system from HP..... Navidia 1070 GPU and an Intel 3.6 ghz processor. Am using a Logitech headset that seems to work well with all my other aftermarket planes and the FSX default planes.

The situation is that when I am in the virtual cockpit I cannot hear any engine sounds. However I can hear the wheels rolling on the pavement when the plane starts rolling. Also if I change the view to the Locked Spot in FSX and look at the plane from the outside I can hear the engine fine. I also noticed in that view if I cycle the prop the engine noise seems to not change as a real airplane would.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Missing Sounds
PostPosted: Tue Feb 20, 2018 5:19 pm 
Offline
A2A Captain
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2014 1:06 pm
Posts: 7071
Location: United Kingdom
jrs182p wrote:
Am using a Logitech headset that seems to work well with all my other aftermarket planes and the FSX default planes.
Thanks for the info jrs182p. As mentioned above, is this headset your default Windows audio playback device? You should be able to check this by typing "manage audio devices" into the Windows search box.

Thanks,
Nick


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Missing Sounds
PostPosted: Wed Feb 21, 2018 3:02 am 
Offline
A2A Lieutenant Colonel
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 11:22 pm
Posts: 28080
Location: Beccles, Suffolk, UK
Hello,

yes the Accu-sim sound splay through the windows default device, it sounds like your head phones are not set to this device so you are only hearing the basic sim sounds.

thanks,
Lewis - A2A

_________________
A2A Facebook for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Youtube because a video can say a thousand screenshots,..
A2A Simulations Twitter for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Simulations Community Discord for voice/text chat


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Missing Sounds
PostPosted: Wed Feb 21, 2018 3:16 pm 
Offline
Airman Basic

Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2014 11:29 pm
Posts: 8
Location: Rockford, IL USA
Well I checked the sound setup in Windows 10 and found the Headset checked as the playback device. I tried to attached a powerpoint image here but it would not attach. WONDER WHY

I think the problem is something else as all my other programs that use sound are working just fine.

John


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Missing Sounds
PostPosted: Wed Feb 21, 2018 3:31 pm 
Offline
Airman Basic

Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2014 11:29 pm
Posts: 8
Location: Rockford, IL USA
PROBLEM SOLVED

Just after I sent the last reply I decided to go into FSX and check again on the sound setup. And whala, I noticed that in the opening screen MENU SETTING/Sound... screen that the the Volume levels' Voice check box was unchecked. Checking it solved the problem.

So here is what I deduct - it appears that Acu-Sim is using the VOICE channel rather than the ENGINES channel to transmit the engine sounds. I don't know why that is being done (probably a good reason). But I will advise as to why it is NOT a good thing to do for compatability with other software.....

I turned off the VOICE on purpose when I set up the program very recently. The reason is because I have another software ADD-On AS16 weather management. They direct you to turn off this channel to avoid the FSX ATIS reports conflicting with the ones they generate. So I will have to remember to uncheck the Voice when using the AS16 weather and A2A planes. It is no problem with Caranado or Just Flight planes.

So I would assume anyone else using and setting up AS16 from HiFi as directed will be having the same issue when using A2A planes.

Just for Information

John


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Missing Sounds
PostPosted: Thu Feb 22, 2018 12:14 pm 
Offline
A2A Lieutenant Colonel
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 11:22 pm
Posts: 28080
Location: Beccles, Suffolk, UK
Sorry John, but no the Accu-sim sound engine that allows realistic sound from the aircraft as explained runs external to the sim itself and plays through your windows default sound device. It sounds like what you have done is correctly set this via visiting your audio system properties and then gone into sim and it has worked.

thanks,
Lewis

_________________
A2A Facebook for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Youtube because a video can say a thousand screenshots,..
A2A Simulations Twitter for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Simulations Community Discord for voice/text chat


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Missing Sounds
PostPosted: Thu Feb 22, 2018 12:33 pm 
Offline
Airman Basic

Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2014 11:29 pm
Posts: 8
Location: Rockford, IL USA
Well that does not make any sense to me as then I would expect that changing the sound options in FSX would have no effect----- But it obviously does.

In any event I have things working again.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Missing Sounds
PostPosted: Thu Feb 22, 2018 12:49 pm 
Offline
Chief Master Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 02, 2013 7:30 pm
Posts: 3305
Location: Typically hanging around N07, 12N, KLDJ, KCDW
It is not possible to upload images to the forum if you are wondering why. You can link to images from a file sharing or image hosting site as many others do. There is no hidden agenda, just limited disk space.

I can not recreate this problem. The sounds play through the default Windows Sound Device. The FSX sound controls only affect the default FSX generated sounds.

_________________
Flight Simmer since 1983. Private Pilot
Paramus Flying Club http://www.flyingclub.org


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Missing Sounds
PostPosted: Fri Feb 23, 2018 4:09 am 
Offline
A2A Lieutenant Colonel
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 11:22 pm
Posts: 28080
Location: Beccles, Suffolk, UK
Yes, turning voice on or off has no affect on our software unless your default device is set to voice and the other sounds through a different device.

thanks,
Lewis

_________________
A2A Facebook for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Youtube because a video can say a thousand screenshots,..
A2A Simulations Twitter for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Simulations Community Discord for voice/text chat


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group