En route frequencies...

The jack of all trades and the world's most popular high performance GA aircraft
new reply
Slick09
Airman

En route frequencies...

Post by Slick09 »

I’ve been simming for quite a few years now (over a decade) and I guess I developed a bad habit. I was wondering how real world pilots (on a VFR flight) figure out what the next en route frequency should be? In the sim world you get a prompt to change along with the frequency in the ATC window, what do you do in the real world. I usually use skyvector.com to find the ATIS, ground, and tower frequencies, but I don’t see anything about enroute frequencies on those charts.

Thnx

Richard

Oracle427
Chief Master Sergeant

Re: En route frequencies...

Post by Oracle427 »

I'm not sure what you mean by an enroute frequency?

There are a number of resources to gather various types of frequencies.

Just about everything you need for VFR is on the chart.
Flight Simmer since 1983. PP ASEL IR Tailwheel
N28021 1979 Super Viking 17-30A

Slick09
Airman

Post by Slick09 »

i think i was making the mistake of assuming that on a VFR flight you have to be in touch with ATC throughout the flight like you would on an IFR flight. I guess the only frequencies you would need for VFR would be in Class B or C airspace, or in an MOA, or the specific frequency for an airport. If you are in an area with no airspace near by or no airports and you needed to speak to center how can you find the frequency on a VFR chart or do you go to the guard frequency and ask someone for help?

Oracle427
Chief Master Sergeant

Post by Oracle427 »

You don't need to be in contact with ATC when VFR unless operating in certain airspace. All of those are charted except for class B.