The A2A Simulations Community

"Come share your passion for flight"
It is currently Sat Dec 15, 2018 9:44 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun May 13, 2018 10:21 am 
Offline
Airman Basic

Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2017 9:45 am
Posts: 6
Hi there,

I was just wondering if at some point the radios in the Cherokee would be upgraded to support the UK changing over to 8.33kHz that is being rolled out at the moment.

I guess this isn't an issue if you are using the original simulator data, but I have upgraded my data so that I can dial in the correct frequencies and obviously all of the latest approach charts and airfield plates have the 'new' frequencies.

Thanks
Rob


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 13, 2018 1:14 pm 
Offline
Chief Master Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 2:14 pm
Posts: 4032
Location: Germany
I’ll second that. Same here in Germany with 8.33kHz.

Thanks and happy flying

_________________
B377&COTS, J3 Cub, B-17G, Spitfire, P-40, P-51D, C172, C182, Pa28, Pa24, T-6 Texan, L-049&COTS, Bonanza V35B


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2018 3:19 am 
Offline
Senior Airman
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 12:49 pm
Posts: 229
+1


Gesendet von iPhone mit Tapatalk

_________________
Using Tapatalk

Image
http://oliversflightsimming.blogspot.de


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2018 7:16 am 
Offline
A2A Mechanic
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 26, 2013 5:03 am
Posts: 3964
KX 155 series are to my knowledge not convertible to 8.33 kHz channel spacing. A replacement with KX 165A series would be required. But then, it is 28 V so probably lots of airplanes have ended up with less classy solutions than expensive Bendix-Kings.

-Esa


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2018 7:42 am 
Offline
Chief Master Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 2:14 pm
Posts: 4032
Location: Germany
AKar wrote:
KX 155 series are to my knowledge not convertible to 8.33 kHz channel spacing. A replacement with KX 165A series would be required. But then, it is 28 V so probably lots of airplanes have ended up with less classy solutions than expensive Bendix-Kings.

-Esa

Yes correct they have.

_________________
B377&COTS, J3 Cub, B-17G, Spitfire, P-40, P-51D, C172, C182, Pa28, Pa24, T-6 Texan, L-049&COTS, Bonanza V35B


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2018 5:29 pm 
Offline
Airman Basic

Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2017 9:45 am
Posts: 6
I posted the same question on the Mindstar GNS forum as I use their 430 and you cannot tune the frequencies on that. This was the reply:

'The tuning resolution is part of the core sim... until it supports 8.33... you won't see it. No matter if you have the real frequencies, you can't get the sim to tune them.'

So it doesn't look like this will ever happen - especially within FSXSE - A shame really as I thought it would be as easy as just updating the frequencies, but obviously not!

Thanks
Rob


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2018 12:10 pm 
Offline
A2A Mechanic
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 26, 2013 5:03 am
Posts: 3964
RobertPBham wrote:
I guess this isn't an issue if you are using the original simulator data, but I have upgraded my data so that I can dial in the correct frequencies and obviously all of the latest approach charts and airfield plates have the 'new' frequencies.
RobertPBham wrote:
'The tuning resolution is part of the core sim... until it supports 8.33... you won't see it. No matter if you have the real frequencies, you can't get the sim to tune them.'
Interestingly, with these pieces of info we end up in a situation where the simulator both supports, and does not support this.

I don't know how the sim platform truly works in this respect, but I know add-ons that tune 8.33 at least for the digits. It would be interesting to get a word from someone who did know how the sim worked in this.

Nick - are you hearing? :mrgreen:

-Esa


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 22, 2018 11:47 am 
Offline
A2A Captain
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2014 1:06 pm
Posts: 7933
Location: United Kingdom
AKar wrote:
Nick - are you hearing? :mrgreen:
Sorry guys - only just caught up with this thread. Do you happen to know of any facilities which have already switched over to 8.33 kHz-spaced frequencies? I'd guess ATIS/ASOS/AWOS would be the most likely candidates?

Anyway, if any have been updated by Hervé Sors for instance, it might be possible for me to do some testing and raise the question with the devs.

Thanks,
Nick


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed May 23, 2018 7:36 am 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2014 3:36 am
Posts: 15
Hi Nick,

I know of a few stations in the UK that have already changed to 8.33, Birmingham Radar and Oxford Radar to name a couple. There is a list here https://www.newfrequency.co.uk


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed May 23, 2018 8:21 am 
Offline
Senior Airman
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 12:49 pm
Posts: 229
And for Germany: https://www.dfs.de/dfs_homepage/de/Serv ... AR2018.pdf


Gesendet von iPhone mit Tapatalk

_________________
Using Tapatalk

Image
http://oliversflightsimming.blogspot.de


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed May 23, 2018 9:14 am 
Offline
Chief Master Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 2:14 pm
Posts: 4032
Location: Germany
Oliver Branaschky wrote:

Yes true. And funny enough in Germany they switched the frequencies before the new ICAO charts where out which led to some confusion approaching the airfields/airports that changed over.

_________________
B377&COTS, J3 Cub, B-17G, Spitfire, P-40, P-51D, C172, C182, Pa28, Pa24, T-6 Texan, L-049&COTS, Bonanza V35B


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 13, 2018 11:04 am 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2014 3:36 am
Posts: 15
Here in the UK, many airfields have switched to 8.33khz frequncies. Just wondering if there are any radio updates for radios and GPS yet?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 13, 2018 1:41 pm 
Offline
Staff Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 07, 2006 3:18 am
Posts: 337
Hi,

Romeo Juliett Echo wrote:
Here in the UK, many airfields have switched to 8.33khz frequncies. Just wondering if there are any radio updates for radios and GPS yet?


As long the internal handling inside FSX/P3D is not changed, updates can not be done. Internal in the scenery and Flightsim engine there is no support for 8.333 Freq (yet).

Can ofcourse "build/design" a "fake" radio, in which you can tune the 8.33 kHz channel which there after is converted to the closes "old" freq.

Marcel

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group