The A2A Simulations Community

"Come share your passion for flight"
It is currently Sun Jul 22, 2018 4:02 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: P3D V4 custom paths
PostPosted: Mon Jan 01, 2018 2:03 pm 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 4:35 am
Posts: 11
Hi guys,

I want to install my A2A products in a simple directory not on my C/Documents and not in my P3D root folder.

I have a folder on my standalone ssd called P3d addons.. Why then can we not have a simple install path for the cherokee/a2a products? There seems to still be a miss-understanding about what the my documents file is for (it should ONLY contain a addon.xml.

Example, even when changing the default location


D:\Users\Alex\Documents\Prepar3D v4 Add-ons\A2A

Should be just D:\Prepar3D v4 Add-ons\A2A

Kind regards,

Alex


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: P3D V4 custom paths
PostPosted: Mon Jan 01, 2018 3:47 pm 
Offline
A2A Master Mechanic
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2008 5:04 pm
Posts: 3209
Location: San Francisco
Just point the installer at the directory you want to install to.

I have mine on a different drive from P3D and from the Documents path.

Paul

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: P3D V4 custom paths
PostPosted: Mon Jan 01, 2018 5:03 pm 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 4:35 am
Posts: 11
But the issue is that it creates a my documents folder, that's the issue.

Alex


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: P3D V4 custom paths
PostPosted: Mon Jan 01, 2018 8:55 pm 
Offline
A2A Master Mechanic
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2008 5:04 pm
Posts: 3209
Location: San Francisco
aceridgey wrote:
But the issue is that it creates a my documents folder, that's the issue.

Alex


Where is it creating that? I don't have one on my system.

My download path contains an "A2A" folder and within that are the folders A@A, Effects, Fonts, Gauges,Scripts,
SimObjects plus the files add-on.xml, add-on.xml.orig, and add-on.xml.PSSCBAK

My install path is Z:\P3DV4X\A2A Aircraft.

All the other P3D files/folders are in my User\Documents folder and elsewhere.

I am not sure what your problem is if you can install the aircraft to a path of your choosing.

Paul

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: P3D V4 custom paths
PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2018 12:25 pm 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 4:35 am
Posts: 11
Gypsy Baron wrote:
aceridgey wrote:
But the issue is that it creates a my documents folder, that's the issue.

Alex


Where is it creating that? I don't have one on my system.

My download path contains an "A2A" folder and within that are the folders A@A, Effects, Fonts, Gauges,Scripts,
SimObjects plus the files add-on.xml, add-on.xml.orig, and add-on.xml.PSSCBAK

My install path is Z:\P3DV4X\A2A Aircraft.

All the other P3D files/folders are in my User\Documents folder and elsewhere.

I am not sure what your problem is if you can install the aircraft to a path of your choosing.

My problem is it creates a my documents folder whereever you put your custom path

Paul

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: P3D V4 custom paths
PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2018 12:25 pm 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 4:35 am
Posts: 11
Gypsy Baron wrote:
aceridgey wrote:
But the issue is that it creates a my documents folder, that's the issue.

Alex


Where is it creating that? I don't have one on my system.

My download path contains an "A2A" folder and within that are the folders A@A, Effects, Fonts, Gauges,Scripts,
SimObjects plus the files add-on.xml, add-on.xml.orig, and add-on.xml.PSSCBAK

My install path is Z:\P3DV4X\A2A Aircraft.

All the other P3D files/folders are in my User\Documents folder and elsewhere.

I am not sure what your problem is if you can install the aircraft to a path of your choosing.

My problem is it creates a my documents folder whereever you put your custom path

Paul

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: P3D V4 custom paths
PostPosted: Thu Jan 04, 2018 8:30 am 
Offline
A2A Lieutenant Colonel
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 11:22 pm
Posts: 27733
Location: Beccles, Suffolk, UK
Hello,

you seem to misunderstand the xml part of the new P3D PDK and optional methods of distribution.

Anyway you can create your own add-on directories where you wish and then install into it. The installer itself will not be creating any my documents folder so long as you select a new location using the non default location.

thanks,
Lewis - A2A

_________________
A2A Facebook for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Youtube because a video can say a thousand screenshots,..
A2A Simulations Twitter for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Simulations Community Discord for voice/text chat


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group