Navagation Data Questions

Post any technical issues here. This forum gets priority from our staff.
[email protected]
Airman First Class

Navagation Data Questions

Post by [email protected] »

I have Prepar3d v4 and an A2A Cessna 172 Trainer with the ability to addon Flight1 430 or 530 or Reality XP 430 or 530 avionics or just use the default GNS 400. I am planning IFR training on my sim and want to make sure P3D flight planner and plane avionics are all working with the same data most likely from Navigraph. I have had some frustrating experiences in the past just flying VFR so I'm trying to understand how P3D and the addons access navagation data. Where does the data get installed? In my A2A plane or the sim or both? What is the advantage of buying Flight1 or Reality XP avionics rather than using the default GNS400? Are their avionics better or more complete because it's their specialty? What do you recommend for everything to work together off Navigraph data and charts with minimum frustration? Thank you in advance. Your simulator wisdom and experience are greatly appreciated.

Nick - A2A
A2A Captain

Re: Navagation Data Questions

Post by Nick - A2A »

Hello maajr57,

To get the most up to date navigation database in P3Dv4 itself, the two real alternatives are https://www.fsaerodata.com/ (paid) and http://www.aero.sors.fr/ (free).

In either case, the updated navdata you install will be presented on the default P3D GPS units. The Flight and RealityXP add-on GPS products use Garmin's trainer which has its own, separate database. Depending on which product you choose, this database is likely to be a little older than the FSAerodata and Aero.Sors databases.

However, these add-on GPS packages include many features not simulated by the default GPS gauges. For example, greatly enhanced moving map displays, terrain and traffic avoidance systems,and the ability to fly RNAV (GPS) approaches with vertical guidance.