The A2A Simulations Community

"Come share your passion for flight"
It is currently Thu Nov 15, 2018 6:25 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: brakes will not work
PostPosted: Mon Oct 22, 2018 8:16 am 
Offline
Airman Basic

Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2018 8:01 am
Posts: 2
The brakes are very weak and I cannot taxi properly. I installed FSUIPC but am confused as to how to use it. Now my brakes are stuck on all the time. using P3D and CH pedals.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: brakes will not work
PostPosted: Mon Oct 22, 2018 11:15 am 
Offline
Staff Sergeant

Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2012 1:38 am
Posts: 312
Location: Bonham, Texas
Make sure the sensitivity of the brake pedals is set to maximum. I had a similar problem where the brakes on another aircraft weren't very powerful and didn't seem to be releasing completely.

My controls\Standard.xml file currently looks like this after a manual edit:

Code:
        <Name>CH Pro Pedals USB{CB657F30-86D6-11E8-8001-444553540000}</Name>
        <Axis>
            <AxName>XAxis</AxName>
            <Index>0</Index>
            <AxEvent>AXIS_LEFT_BRAKE_SET</AxEvent>
            <AxScale>-127</AxScale>
        </Axis>
        <Axis>
            <AxName>YAxis</AxName>
            <Index>1</Index>
            <AxEvent>AXIS_RIGHT_BRAKE_SET</AxEvent>
            <AxScale>-127</AxScale>
        </Axis>


Hook


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: brakes will not work
PostPosted: Mon Oct 22, 2018 2:43 pm 
Offline
A2A Lieutenant Colonel
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 11:22 pm
Posts: 28311
Location: Beccles, Suffolk, UK
Also if the device needs reversing in its mapping, otherwise always on will be applicable until the brake is pressed which is when it will release.

One thing to bare in mind though is that the brakes changing is modelled so should be checked in the sim and fixed if the brakes are wearing.

thanks,
Lewis - A2A

_________________
A2A Facebook for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Youtube because a video can say a thousand screenshots,..
A2A Simulations Twitter for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Simulations Community Discord for voice/text chat


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: brakes will not work
PostPosted: Mon Oct 22, 2018 8:23 pm 
Offline
Airman Basic

Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2018 8:01 am
Posts: 2
I appreciate you assistance but this is all Greek to me. I cannot understand any of the information on any of the forums. I am paying for real flight instruction and want to use the sim for real world training. I do not have the time or patience...nor technical know how to get this to work. Is there any paid service I can hire to set up my flight sim??


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: brakes will not work
PostPosted: Mon Oct 22, 2018 9:47 pm 
Offline
Chief Master Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 02, 2013 7:30 pm
Posts: 3432
Location: Typically hanging around N07, 12N, KLDJ, KCDW
I'm not aware of a paid service for home flight sims, but many flight schools have their own flight simulators.

_________________
Flight Simmer since 1983. Private Pilot
Paramus Flying Club http://www.flyingclub.org


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: brakes will not work
PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2018 6:35 am 
Offline
Staff Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2015 11:06 am
Posts: 449
Location: KMSV
kpaf wrote:
I appreciate you assistance but this is all Greek to me. I cannot understand any of the information on any of the forums. I am paying for real flight instruction and want to use the sim for real world training. I do not have the time or patience...nor technical know how to get this to work. Is there any paid service I can hire to set up my flight sim??


Hi Folks,

While FS works pretty well for instrument or procedural training - as for your primary flight training - not so much... You might be better off skipping it entirely - if that’s your motivation - just my two cents...

Regards,
Scott


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: brakes will not work
PostPosted: Tue Oct 30, 2018 7:35 am 
Offline
A2A Lieutenant Colonel
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 11:22 pm
Posts: 28311
Location: Beccles, Suffolk, UK
I'd say that's an older school way of thinking, dating back to green is ground blue is sky simulators, and maybe in line with the also old way of thinking, the I don't want failures in my sim because I want to simulate x,y,z dispite not simulating x,y or z because the real world isn't perfect and the ability of getting on with x,y and z should be done with the distractions the real world throws at you for best practice. Both dating back to early sim time and a context that doesn't exist currently.

Come up to 2018 and you are now in a situation where essentially and scarily, desktop home flight sims have become arguable more real than the majority of the professional certified units used to teach PPL and everything above.

You have a very advanced tool, its been proven to work time and time again, and its increase of use the world over by pilots and businesses (flight schools) to save masses of money (students who sim tend to get through lessons quicker, even able to skip certain areas that might take up a lesson, and flight schools can operate no matter the weather etc) shows it has evolved somewhat from the old ways.

_________________
A2A Facebook for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Youtube because a video can say a thousand screenshots,..
A2A Simulations Twitter for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Simulations Community Discord for voice/text chat


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group