Starting Problems

Post any technical issues here. This forum gets priority from our staff.
Tom347
Airman

Starting Problems

Post by Tom347 »

OK, I know this has been discussed. I've searched and read the threads.

Just purchased the 172. I've been flying the A2A B-17 for three months with no issues.

The 172, I just cannot start it. I've tried everything. I've followed all the directions. Its very frustrating.

I've never flown a plane or been in a C-172, but I can't believe they're this hard to start in real life. They never would have become such a popular aircraft if all you have to do is look at it wrong and it won't start.

I've tried 10 different 30 minute sessions trying to start it. I've been successful twice.

Where do I go from here, I'm ready to give up?

Piper_EEWL
Chief Master Sergeant

Re: Starting Problems

Post by Piper_EEWL »

Hi there,

Well since it seems like you’ve tried a lot is it safe to assume that your simulation is all up to date, there is no issues in the walkaround (shift+8) and or the hangar (shift+7) and there is sufficient fuel and oil in the aircraft (shift+4)? Did you check in the hangar if the engine is flooded after unsuccessful attempts to start? It’ll give you a good idea if your priming to much or to little.

If so and it still doesn’t start following the checklist may I ask what the ambient temperature is when you try to start the engine? This has caught me out a couple of times. The simulation seems to react sensitiv to high ambient temperatures with regard to flooding the engine.

Don’t give up though. Once you’ll get the hang of it it’ll become a lot easier to do!

Happy flying
B377&COTS, J3 Cub, B-17G, Spitfire, P-40, P-51D, C172, C182, Pa28, Pa24, T-6 Texan, L-049&COTS, Bonanza V35B

LZ-WIL
Master Sergeant

Post by LZ-WIL »

Hi,