The A2A Simulations Community

"Come share your passion for flight"
It is currently Thu Nov 15, 2018 4:57 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Hobbs
PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2018 3:19 pm 
Offline
Airman
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 11:25 am
Posts: 14
Can someone please tell me where the hobbs data are saved and if they can be restored?
Each time I reinstall P3Dv4.x/A2A_C172/A2A_C182 - last time due to P3Dv4.2 update - the hobbs data are gone.

___
Joe


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Hobbs
PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2018 4:43 pm 
Offline
Senior Master Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2011 5:54 pm
Posts: 1875
On my computer it is: computer\documents\A2A\FSX\Cessna172. You should find a list of.dat files. (In your case P3D probably in place of FSX)

You can create a folder in a safe, convenient location then copy and save these .dat files in the new folder as a backup.

I have folders for each 172 repaint that I have so each repaint has its own history.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Hobbs
PostPosted: Tue Apr 10, 2018 3:07 am 
Offline
Airman
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 11:25 am
Posts: 14
Jaques,

thanks for your hints. It seems that they don't work in P3D v4.2, which I'm using.
I started P3D v4.2 with the standard scenario. Next Iloaded A2A's C172 and verified, that the hobbs reads a value greater than zero. So I ensured that data for a later storage exist. Finally I searched within my A2A-tree (see below) for a *.dat file. Didn't find any (Windows 10_64b explorer settings were set to view all hidden files, file extensions etc.)
I also looked in P3D's main directory, if I could find an "A2A" directory. Was just to round up my search, because I selected a different path within the installer (BTW the latest, as I downloaded it just before installation again) for both A2A installations, C172 and C182.

For further info I can supply you with my install-tree, where X: is my P3D drive:
FYI tree was created via command line and redirected to an output file)
Here's the content of this output file:

---------------------------------------------------------------

X:\PREPAR3D V4.ADDONS
+---A2A
| +---A2A
| | +---Cessna172
| | | \---Tools
| | \---Cessna182
| | \---Tools
| +---Effects
| | \---Texture
| +---Fonts
| +---Gauges
| | +---accusim
| | \---accusim_xml
| +---Scripts
| \---SimObjects
| \---Airplanes
| +---A2A_C172
| | +---model
| | +---panel
| | | +---A2A_C172
| | | \---gps
| | +---sound
| | +---texture
| | +---texture.F-GOAP
| | +---texture.N347LM
| | +---texture.N7274H
| | \---texture.N990CP
| \---A2A_C182
| +---model
| +---panel
| | +---A2A_C182
| | \---gps
| +---sound
| +---texture
| +---texture.1
| +---texture.2
| +---texture.3
| +---texture.4
| \---texture.vc_beige

---------------------------------------------------------------

Remark:
Sorry about the omitted spaces in the tree-view! Fixed pitch-fonts obviously aren't supported by this forum-engine. I've pasted all the characters from my notepad directly.

___
Joe


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Hobbs
PostPosted: Tue Apr 10, 2018 3:31 am 
Offline
A2A Captain
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2014 1:06 pm
Posts: 7605
Location: United Kingdom
Hi Joe,

Even though you're using P3Dv4.2, the directory where your *log.dat files for the 172 are saved is as follows...

Documents\A2A\FSX\Cessna172

Using the "FSX" folder allows the aircraft state to be shared between both sims whereas the "P3D" folder is used for the input configurator. It's worth pointing out that the install/uninstall procedure doesn't touch the files in this directory; instead they're generated/updated by the 172 each time you launch it in the sim.

Please can you just confirm if your 172 installation is otherwise working normally. For instance, does everything check out in the maintenance hangar and is the count for engine/airframe hours increasing when you fly the aircraft in the sim?

Thanks,
Nick


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Hobbs
PostPosted: Tue Apr 10, 2018 6:27 am 
Offline
Airman
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 11:25 am
Posts: 14
Nick - A2A wrote:
Hi Joe,

Even though you're using P3Dv4.2, the directory where your *log.dat files for the 172 are saved is as follows...

Documents\A2A\FSX\Cessna172

Using the "FSX" folder allows the aircraft state to be shared between both sims whereas the "P3D" folder is used for the input configurator. It's worth pointing out that the install/uninstall procedure doesn't touch the files in this directory; instead they're generated/updated by the 172 each time you launch it in the sim.

Please can you just confirm if your 172 installation is otherwise working normally. For instance, does everything check out in the maintenance hangar and is the count for engine/airframe hours increasing when you fly the aircraft in the sim?

Thanks,
Nick


Many thanks Nick! Now all makes sence. I've located the *log.dat files now.

@ my C172 installation:

o maintenance hangar: _all_ items tested, they work properly within my P3Dv4.2 (complete fresh, not updated only single installations) installation

o engine/airframe-counter has also shown increased hours. The hobbs also increments it's values (integer and tenths)
very correct!

But another 'anomaly' I've noticed while installing: when viewing the installation process there were very often two backslashes as directory seperator displayed in the installer window, but nonetheless the C172 and C182 seem to work properly and the created paths also seem to be correct. Maybe due to the installer behaviour itself, I don't know... AFAICR I read elsewhere you are planning to rework the installers anyway...

Thanks,
___
Joe


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Hobbs
PostPosted: Tue Apr 10, 2018 6:53 am 
Offline
A2A Captain
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2014 1:06 pm
Posts: 7605
Location: United Kingdom
Okay, thanks for the info Joe. Sounds like your installation is okay in that case. The only update you need for present for P3Dv4.1/4.2 is this one which addresses a ground physics issue which Lockheed Martin introduced.

CitMusJoe wrote:
But another 'anomaly' I've noticed while installing: when viewing the installation process there were very often two backslashes as directory seperator displayed in the installer window, but nonetheless the C172 and C182 seem to work properly and the created paths also seem to be correct.
Yeah, the double backslash thing in the add-ons path with the existing installers doesn't have any effect because P3D can still read the path correctly. As you mention, brand new installers are being prepared too. These will include a few additional fixes and updates.

Thanks,
Nick


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Hobbs
PostPosted: Tue Apr 10, 2018 7:28 am 
Offline
Airman
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 11:25 am
Posts: 14
Thanks for the additional infos, Nick.

___
Joe


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: TreeTops and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group