The A2A Simulations Community

"Come share your passion for flight"
It is currently Thu Apr 26, 2018 2:51 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: C172 Elevator Trim Slow
PostPosted: Sun Mar 04, 2018 10:13 pm 
Offline
Airman Basic

Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2017 12:57 am
Posts: 8
P3D v4.2 sim
C172 Accu-Sim

I am very disappointed at the elevator trim slowness in this classic aircraft from A2A. No other aircraft that I have react as slow as this. I have done a lot of research and I do not see any answers to this problem. Whether you are using the mouse wheel or my FSUIPC setting to my joystick it is the same.

Can anyone help with this problem?

Regards,
Dane


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Mar 04, 2018 10:26 pm 
Offline
Chief Master Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 02, 2013 7:30 pm
Posts: 3130
Location: Typically hanging around N07, 12N, KLDJ, KCDW
The trim speed is accurate and responds just like the real aircraft. There isn't anything to "fix" if we want to be realistic. The only way one can get the trim to move faster is to manually move the trim wheel, just as one would do in the real thing.

That said, if you want some trim acceleration when holding down the trim, try mapping the trim control using the A2A Input Configurator utility that comes with the product.

_________________
Flight Simmer since 1983. Private Pilot
Paramus Flying Club http://www.flyingclub.org


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 05, 2018 12:12 am 
Offline
Airman Basic

Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2017 12:57 am
Posts: 8
Oracle427 wrote:
The trim speed is accurate and responds just like the real aircraft. There isn't anything to "fix" if we want to be realistic. The only way one can get the trim to move faster is to manually move the trim wheel, just as one would do in the real thing.

That said, if you want some trim acceleration when holding down the trim, try mapping the trim control using the A2A Input Configurator utility that comes with the product.



Thank you for your reply and suggestion.

I actually have flown the 172 as a Private and Commercial Pilot many years ago, however it was not a 172R, I forget the model as it was a long time ago - the 172 I used to fly the trim was much quicker than this model, but that's OK as I am very happy with the performance.

Dane


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 05, 2018 3:44 am 
Offline
A2A First Lieutenant
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2014 1:06 pm
Posts: 5716
Location: United Kingdom
Hi Dane,

Yeah, as Oracle says, I can recommend you use the "yoke trim up" and "yoke trim down" input via A2A's input configurator. This will give you a constant speed trim rate that closely matches the real life manual electric trim rate of the real aircraft. (i.e. without the slightly strange FSX "trim acceleration" feature.)

More advanced techniques can be used in FSUIPC to set the trim rate exactly to your liking. More info in this post.

Thanks,
Nick


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 05, 2018 10:13 am 
Offline
Airman Basic

Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2017 12:57 am
Posts: 8
Nick M wrote:
Hi Dane,

Yeah, as Oracle says, I can recommend you use the "yoke trim up" and "yoke trim down" input via A2A's input configurator. This will give you a constant speed trim rate that closely matches the real life manual electric trim rate of the real aircraft. (i.e. without the slightly strange FSX "trim acceleration" feature.)

More advanced techniques can be used in FSUIPC to set the trim rate exactly to your liking. More info in this post.

Thanks,
Nick


Wow, thanks Nick. I will follow up on the FSUIPC link as well.

Dane


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 05, 2018 7:00 pm 
Offline
Airman Basic

Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2017 12:57 am
Posts: 8
dane wrote:
Nick M wrote:
Hi Dane,

Yeah, as Oracle says, I can recommend you use the "yoke trim up" and "yoke trim down" input via A2A's input configurator. This will give you a constant speed trim rate that closely matches the real life manual electric trim rate of the real aircraft. (i.e. without the slightly strange FSX "trim acceleration" feature.)

More advanced techniques can be used in FSUIPC to set the trim rate exactly to your liking. More info in this post.

Thanks,
Nick


Wow, thanks Nick. I will follow up on the FSUIPC link as well.

Dane


Just to let you know Nick, I setup my elevator trim speed by using your suggestion in FSUIPC with the Offset system.
Once again thank you.

Dane


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2018 4:58 pm 
Offline
A2A First Lieutenant
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2014 1:06 pm
Posts: 5716
Location: United Kingdom
You're very welcome Dane - glad you got it sorted. :)

Nick


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 07, 2018 10:46 am 
Offline
Senior Airman

Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 9:35 pm
Posts: 117
So, uh :| , I've been flying this 172 for years now. I have real 172 time 8) , I have always noticed that trim rate doesn't appear realistic, but it worked just fine for all these years I had the A2A C172.

This thread made me realize the trim switch assignments are in the A2A C172 Configurator :mrgreen: . And now, The wheel moves exactly at the rate I remember it did. What a fantastic minute detail!

Thanks guys!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group