The A2A Simulations Community

"Come share your passion for flight"
It is currently Mon Sep 24, 2018 11:29 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Jan 10, 2018 11:43 am 
Offline
Airman Basic

Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2018 11:32 am
Posts: 9
Hi there...

... I recently bought your C172 for Prepar3d v4.1 and I am really loving it. However, I am not really sure if the window fogging works properly as my windows NEVER change in any way, they don't fog up in any weather situation I have tried (with real weather around the globe and weather presets, manual weather and on different altitudes, different cabin air settings).

I have already installed the update 10_12_17 and uninstalled the aircraft and reinstalled it (including the update), but the situation did not change. Also, I am not using the C172 as my default flight (as this broke my hat switch input).


So, how can I get the windows fogging up? Or is there something wrong with my setup/installation?


Kind regards,

Agi


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 11, 2018 7:01 am 
Offline
Chief Master Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 02, 2013 7:30 pm
Posts: 3313
Location: Typically hanging around N07, 12N, KLDJ, KCDW
Do they fog up when sitting on the ground with the engine off in cool weather?

_________________
Flight Simmer since 1983. Private Pilot
Paramus Flying Club http://www.flyingclub.org


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 11, 2018 7:14 am 
Offline
Airman Basic

Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2018 11:32 am
Posts: 9
Thanks for your reply, really appreciated. :-)


Oracle427 wrote:
Do they fog up when sitting on the ground with the engine off in cool weather?


No... they do not. We have pretty cool weather in germany these days and this has no effect on the windows. I have never seen them fog up in any situation (and I was hunting for them) so I think I have a problem with my configuration. But I don't have any idea what can be the cause.

First of all, my question is, the windows should still fog up in the current version of the aircraft?

As I only found posts where people where complaining about too much fogging I thought the feature could probably been disabled in later versions. So, if the fogging feature is still active, I have a problem with my setup.

As for the weather, I am using the new SkyForce by REX, but also if I don't use it, the problem persists. As I could not find any modules for SkyForce loaded into the sim (by dll.xml, add-ons.xml or exe.xml) when not starting the main SkyForce application, I am not sure if this can be the cause. Further I am using FSUIPC 5 but I really doubt this is the problem as I think I would have found many others having this problem by web search.

So, I really have no idea what is going on here.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 12, 2018 10:37 am 
Offline
Airman Basic

Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2018 11:32 am
Posts: 9
I just reinstalled Windows 10, Prepar3d (without any add on) and the C172 but with no change. So I think my add ons are not causing the problem.

Maybe it's a video driver issue or related to windows 10 fall creators update. I'm currently using NVidia driver 390.65 so maybe someone with working window fog effects can tell me his driver version so I can test if that one fixes the problem.

Also, as I am possibly doing something wrong or expect the fogging occur in the wrong situation, it would help if someone could tell me a weather preset that causes the fogging easily as all of my tests with different weather situations did not bring it up.


Thank you

Agi


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 12, 2018 2:52 pm 
Online
A2A Captain
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2014 1:06 pm
Posts: 7087
Location: United Kingdom
Hello Agi - good observation and welcome to the forums! :) There is indeed an issue with window fogging in the 172 in P3Dv4 which A2A are aware of. I suspect the lack of virtual condensation will be fixed in a coming update.

Thanks,
Nick


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 12, 2018 4:00 pm 
Offline
Airman Basic

Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2018 11:32 am
Posts: 9
Hi Nick,

and thank you so much for this information. It was driving me crazy as I thought my completely new setup was messed up again or what so ever. So, it's a bug and I will wait for an update.

:-)


Thank you,

Agi


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 12, 2018 4:47 pm 
Online
A2A Captain
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2014 1:06 pm
Posts: 7087
Location: United Kingdom
You're welcome - I hope you didn't spend too much time with troubleshooting. For what it's worth, only the 172 seems to be affected; I believe glass fogging works as advertised in the other A2A P3Dv4 products.

Cheers,
Nick


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 13, 2018 8:25 pm 
Offline
Airman Basic

Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2018 11:32 am
Posts: 9
Thanks to your information my troubleshooting has come to an end. Anyway, I was running out of ideas as a fresh install of windows and P3D did not change anything, so I did all everything I could think of.

So, thank you one more time... I can relax now without questioning my computer or setup or myself any further.

:-)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group