The A2A Simulations Community

"Come share your passion for flight"
It is currently Sun Dec 16, 2018 6:35 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Texture Resolution issue
PostPosted: Fri Dec 29, 2017 3:12 pm 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2017 5:42 pm
Posts: 18
Hi guys

I have noticed if we set the A2A172 as the default plane in P3D v4.1 the texture resolution automatically lowers to high or medium from ultra on a beefy system. If we load in a normal freeware plane and change to the 172 within the sim there are no issues.

Are there any other work arounds? Or is that his a known problem.

Thanks.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 30, 2017 7:55 am 
Offline
Airman First Class

Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 2:57 am
Posts: 67
Location: Southern California
Hello,

I have the same issue when with the Comanche 250. If I load up the Comanche as the default aircraft then every time I open the graphics menu and click ok (even without changing anything), the texture resolution setting will go down one level, from ultra to high to medium etc...
I noticed this because at some point my textures wouldn’t even load at all since the setting ended up blank, even lower than the very low minimum selectable one. It took me a while to understand what happened.
I don’t seem to have the issue with any other aircraft loaded as default.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

_________________
B377 / B-17 / Spitfire / P-51 Civilian / Piper J-3 Cub / C172 / C182 / Cherokee / Comanche / Avro 504k / F4U Corsair / BF109


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 30, 2017 11:03 am 
Offline
Master Sergeant

Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 11:21 am
Posts: 1033
Location: Poland
I never mess with the default flight, to me saving/loading and changing default states are just broken features of the fsx/p3d platforms where too much can get messed up (especially with addon aircraft) or not load correctly and you're done, looking for fixes in all the wrong places. Better be on the safe side.

Or maybe they are not broken but just not made to work with addons most of the time.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Dec 31, 2017 11:11 am 
Offline
A2A Lieutenant Colonel
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 11:22 pm
Posts: 28515
Location: Beccles, Suffolk, UK
Hello,

you should never be loading a complex simulation as a default flight due to load issues this can cause. Its always advised against.

thanks,
Lewis - A2A

_________________
A2A Facebook for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Youtube because a video can say a thousand screenshots,..
A2A Simulations Twitter for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Simulations Community Discord for voice/text chat


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2018 9:59 pm 
Offline
Airman First Class

Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 2:57 am
Posts: 67
Location: Southern California
Ok I see. Could you please define complex simulation? Does that mean third party aircrafts or third party airports/orbx regions too?

_________________
B377 / B-17 / Spitfire / P-51 Civilian / Piper J-3 Cub / C172 / C182 / Cherokee / Comanche / Avro 504k / F4U Corsair / BF109


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2018 10:52 pm 
Offline
Chief Master Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 02, 2013 7:30 pm
Posts: 3467
Location: Typically hanging around N07, 12N, KLDJ, KCDW
Just third party complex aircraft. The sim engine does not initialize properly from saved scenarios and is especially plagued by initialization conflicts with various third party aircraft. It's a shame that the designers did not include a reset everything to default call that the third party devs could use to avoid this situation.

_________________
Flight Simmer since 1983. Private Pilot
Paramus Flying Club http://www.flyingclub.org


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group