Descent mixture?

Post any technical issues here. This forum gets priority from our staff.
new reply
UKJim
Senior Airman

Descent mixture?

Post by UKJim »

Hi,

I am not a pilot so I am a bit noob to this but I get I need lean mixture on the ground while taxiing etc - then full mixture for takeoff - then lean it to max RPM in the cruise but what should I be doing on decent?

Obviously I lower the throttle and even when the mixture is fully rich the EGT dial remains at the bottom. Should I be leaning the mixture to just above a stall?

Thanks,

spacejunkee
Staff Sergeant

Re: Descent mixture?

Post by spacejunkee »

Here you go, this is from page 55 in the pilots manual:
DESCENT
1. Power — AS DESIRED
2. Mixture — ADJUST for smooth operation
3. Altimeter — SET
4. NAV/GPS Switch — SET
5. Fuel Selector Valve — BOTH
6. Wing Flaps — AS DESIRED (0° - 10°
below 110 kias, 10° - 30° below 85 kias)
In my limited experience, if you're below 3000 feet you can be full rich. If landing at higher elevations, know that you will need to lean the mixture to achieve maximum available power. When I was landing at 6000' I had mixture set to around 70-80% I believe.
PC SPECS: Win 11 PRO | AOC 34" Ultra Wide Curved |
Intel 13700KF CPU | G.SKILL Trident Z5 32GB DDR5 6800 2x16GB 34-45-45-108 |
ASUS ROG Strix Z790-E Gaming | ASUS TUF Gaming RTX 4070 Ti OC | 2 x Samsung 980 PRO M.2 2TB Gen 4 X4

Tigerclaw
Technical Sergeant

Post by Tigerclaw »

I think you should bare in mind that a full rich mixture at idle can, and most probably will, foul the plugs on the way down. And when you might need power, there won't BE any ;) As the check list says, regardless of altitude, LISTEN to your engine, and lean for smooth operation.
Tony (That's all your getting, like it or lump it)

MSFS i7-7700 Kaby Lake CPU @ 3.60 GHz, 3601 Mhz, 4 Cores (Liquid cooled) Gigabyte B250M-DS3H-CF M/Board 32 Gig DDR4 Ram Nvidia GTX 1080ti 11GB GDDR 5 Win 10 Home Acer Predator XB271HU.

whiic
Staff Sergeant

Post by whiic »