The A2A Simulations Community

"Come share your passion for flight"
It is currently Mon Oct 15, 2018 4:45 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: new a2a purchase
PostPosted: Fri Apr 13, 2018 11:40 am 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 1:59 pm
Posts: 20
Location: Edinburgh,Scotland
hi I have been flying the 172 trainer for awhile and have really enjoyed flying this aircraft in fsx but have now made the move over to p3dv4.2 and realize I have to make a new purchase to use the 172 in p3d so thought it would be the right time to go with a new aircraft and I am thinking of the Comanche because of the retractable gear and faster speed so I am looking for opinions on this aircraft also I would like to use the gtn 650/750 if possible in the Comanche and are there any problems using this aircraft in p3d,thank you for any advice

Jim

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: new a2a purchase
PostPosted: Sun Apr 15, 2018 9:32 am 
Offline
Senior Airman

Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2015 3:10 pm
Posts: 117
Hi,

I have the Comanche with the GTN, and the only "issue" is that it's not easy to fly a GPS aproach due to the autopilot.
For the rest it works like a charm.
But I prefer to use the GTN with the Skylane due to the better autopilot allowing to follow easy a flightplan or precision aproaches. That said, I mostly fly VFR doing dead reckoning so the GPS is only a backup.

PD: sorry for my grammar, I don't use english and I dont have the dictionary on hand.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: new a2a purchase
PostPosted: Sun Apr 15, 2018 9:42 am 
Offline
Chief Master Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 02, 2013 7:30 pm
Posts: 3354
Location: Typically hanging around N07, 12N, KLDJ, KCDW
The STEC-30 autopilot is faithfully replicated by A2A, and it does not have GPSS in this particular installation they have modeled. As a result, it will overshoot turns when changing course.

The simple procedure to follow, which is the same procedure used by many pilots in many GA aircraft even in jets, is to go to HDG mode and drive the autopilot to the new course in anticipation of the turn. Once established in the course, go back to a NAV mode. You can also leave the aircraft in heading mode and just generally track the course which is also perfectly realistic and acceptable.

_________________
Flight Simmer since 1983. Private Pilot
Paramus Flying Club http://www.flyingclub.org


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: new a2a purchase
PostPosted: Sun Apr 15, 2018 10:38 am 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 1:59 pm
Posts: 20
Location: Edinburgh,Scotland
as I will mostly fly vfr in this aircraft I have changed my mind about installing a gtn I will use the Comanche as it comes and use plan g for flight planing using navigational aids.

thanks,jim

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: new a2a purchase
PostPosted: Sun Apr 15, 2018 12:46 pm 
Offline
Technical Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2014 12:27 pm
Posts: 960
I have the Comanche and really like it! Started in FSX, now running P3Dv4.2. I've looked at Flight1 stuff, but run the stock in-dash Garmin 400. Yesterday I flew a lady friend from Arlington (KAWO) to Felps (KSFF).

You won't go wrong with the Comanche.

Image

Seeya
ATB

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group