Taxiing the Cessna 172

One of the world's most popular trainer aircraft
Svanen
Airman Basic

Taxiing the Cessna 172

Post by Svanen »

Hi all,

The first time when I started the A2A Cessna 172 and started taxiing I ended up on the grass next to the apron and my first thoughts was "#"!#¤"!¤%! I'm a private pilot but have never been flying the Cessna, only Piper and some DA40 (that I hate taxiing), but I was sure that taxiing the Cessna was the same as the Piper.

I thought that there was really something wrong with the plane, but today I had my first flight in real life in a Cessna 172 with a flight instructor and when taxiing and turning 90 degrees I needed to use differential braking to turn, even when lining up on the runway I needed to brake to get in to the correct position.

Great work A2A, it really felt spot on! :-)

I do have some problem with the elevator control, I did not feel the same today, sure the Cessna would almost takeoff by itself, it really wants to fly, but my settings in FSX feels too sensitive then what I experienced today, but I think that I will need to tune my settings in FSX.

On final with 65 knots, cutting power over the threshold, full flaps and a "stall" landing, there was minimal with float. In FSX when I try the same there is much more floating then what I experienced today, but perhaps I need to be more careful with the speed.

Will do some more testing, I'm sure it is my controls that are over sensitive and I need to be more careful with the speed, but I did not feel that there was so much floating today when practicing in real life.

But I was a very nice experience to fly the Cessna 172 today, I really liked it and I'm sure I will have lots of good practice with the A2A Cessna 172. I need some more technical training and a little more familiarization with the Cessna, but after that I am good to go.

As I said, great work and thanks! :-)

Mantock
Staff Sergeant

Re: Taxiing the Cessna 172

Post by Mantock »