The A2A Simulations Community

"Come share your passion for flight"
It is currently Fri Aug 18, 2017 11:33 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Paint kit help
PostPosted: Tue Dec 27, 2016 3:55 pm 
Offline
Airman
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 27, 2016 2:25 pm
Posts: 23
Hi all,

I'm trying to make a repaint of this wonderful '172 but I'm having problems.

Using GIMP to open the .psd files (I don't have PS), all the layers showed up, and I got painting, using the F-GOAP livery layer under "paint here" as a template.

I got the design painted on, and it looked like this (all fine I think), but when I came to exporting it with GIMP's DDS plugin (using BC3/DXT5 compression, maybe this has something to do with it?), I had some serious issues. I merged visible layers, then added a layer mask with the alpha channel so that this was all I had in the layers section. However, when I go to load the livery in FSX, having done everything with the AC.cfg etc, I get this.

I am a bit stuck here, as I think it's something to do with the alpha channel, but I have tried many combinations of having the alpha on certain layers, merging layers, and the same with the _spec file, but to no avail, I always just get the black aircraft.

Any help is greatly appreciated, as this is my first repaint and I have no clue what I'm doing!

Max

_________________
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Paint kit help
PostPosted: Tue Dec 27, 2016 8:16 pm 
Offline
Senior Airman
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 2:44 am
Posts: 225
Hi Max,
I dont have Gimp but I'd like to help, so I would need the exported .dds if possible.
Could you PM me?
Marius

_________________
Greets, Marius

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Paint kit help
PostPosted: Wed Dec 28, 2016 7:55 am 
Offline
Master Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2010 10:07 am
Posts: 1403
Location: Chelmsford, Essex, UK
I'm only posting here because it's one of VERY few non-Connie threads. :D

_________________
------------------------------------
Image
------------------------------------
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Paint kit help
PostPosted: Fri Dec 30, 2016 2:02 pm 
Offline
Senior Airman
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 2:44 am
Posts: 225
I'm pretty sureI found the issue.
Your texture is correctly compressed to DXT5, however it appears to have other dimensions.
The textures always need a quadratic size (e.g. here 4096x4096).

And I noticed the layer with the lines needs to be activated in the paintkit as well

Cheers and Happy New Year!

_________________
Greets, Marius

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Paint kit help
PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2016 11:31 am 
Offline
Airman
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 27, 2016 2:25 pm
Posts: 23
The end result

Not finished in my eyes. Something about it just looks odd, maybe the lack of shadowing?

I got really frustrated with layering and GIMP so this is all I have. I would change it more but I don't have a version with the individual layers intact.

Just a question though - are the repainters expected to add shadowing to the paint themselves? I didn't manually add shading/shadows to this paint, and nothing has shown up, or is there something in the paint kit for that, which I must have missed?

Thanks for all your help anyway, I learned something from it at least and maybe in the future I will try some more repaints.

Thanks again,

Max

_________________
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Paint kit help
PostPosted: Mon Jan 02, 2017 11:36 am 
Offline
A2A Lieutenant Colonel
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 11:22 pm
Posts: 25266
Location: Lowestoft Suffolk UK
Hey Max,

looking good. Go over the paint kit it looks like you have weathering and some shadowing and panel layers etc which all combine together to form the good effect turned off in your repaint.

thanks,
Lewis

_________________
A2A Facebook for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Youtube because a video can say a thousand screenshots,..
My twitter for my own twitter and random A2A insights
My Twitch for my own twitch live streaming


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Paint kit help
PostPosted: Mon Jan 02, 2017 12:06 pm 
Offline
Airman
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 27, 2016 2:25 pm
Posts: 23
Thanks for the advice Lewis.

Unfortunately, compiled this and cannot find the original layered version, but next time I attempt a repaint I'll do this.

I wouldn't suppose anyone wants this livery, but if anyone stumbles across this page and is dying for the reg/livery then send me a PM.

Regards,

Max

_________________
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Paint kit help
PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2017 3:34 pm 
Offline
Airman
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 27, 2016 2:25 pm
Posts: 23
As an update to this post, I tried again(!)

This is the result.

I couldn't find a font that matched the actual plane, but the one I chose instead fits OK, and maybe one day i'll round it off manually. But otherwise, this is the first C172 repaint I've done that I'm actually proud of :D

There may be a download coming in the next day or two...

Max

_________________
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CrewMember and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group