I'm too slow in the 109 - any tips?

Battle of Britain "Wings of Victory"
new reply
Eisenfaust
Airman

I'm too slow in the 109 - any tips?

Post by Eisenfaust »

Hi there,

I started playing air combat sims not to long ago - mostly Battle of Stalingrad and Cliffs of Dover. But since I prefer Single Player (father of young children - pause button is my friend) net research brought me to BOB2 - which is praised for having one of the greatest campaigns and ai available for flightsims. Since not even the windows 10 fall creators update fixed the problems with the OS I even installed an additional Win7 on my Desktop...

Now I'm trying to familiarize myself with my favourite plane - the Emil via IA - but wether follow your leader or turkey shoot - I can't catch my bait and I don't understand quite what I'm doing wrong...

That I can't follow a Spit in a curve is clear to me - but both the leading 109 and the escaping spit are faster in level flight and in dives...

I'm flying with complex engine managment and try to keep 2400 rpm and 1.3 ata. I handle the stick as smoothly as possible and try to keep the slipping ball in the center - anything else I could try?

Boreas
Technical Sergeant

Re: I'm too slow in the 109 - any tips?

Post by Boreas »

Hi Eisenfaust, my guess is you might not be benefiting from manual propeller pitch or elevator pitch trim adjustments assigned to your joystick.

Eisenfaust
Airman

Post by Eisenfaust »

Thanks for the answer - but I'm not sure what you mean. Prop pitch i'm controlling by two buttons on the Joystick. Elevator trim by the coolie hat. In maneuver combat I trim the upwards to make recoveries from steep dives easier.

Boreas
Technical Sergeant

Post by Boreas »