The A2A Simulations Community

"Come share your passion for flight"
It is currently Wed Aug 15, 2018 12:53 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 39 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2016 3:44 am 
Offline
BDG
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2004 8:21 am
Posts: 5111
Location: wet coast, Canada
Multiskin is switched in bdg.txt.
If you do a search of it for multiskin, you'll find

MULTI_SKIN_MODE=ENABLE # valid modes: DISABLE, ENABLE, FX_FILES_ONLY, MS_FILES_ONLY. Only active when MultiSkin is installed

beyond the choices available there, there is also the
"multiskin lite" hack, whereby you edit the main
multiskin control files, so only one skin per plane
is loaded, but you still get individual unit number
codes. It is described via links here:

viewtopic.php?f=48&t=23195


A note about "stutters" on a new install: I found this today while
trawling the archive for something else, a discussion by Osram
from about '06:

"Actually when the BDG took over the code to BoB, we held a poll on the number one priority and with about 33% of votes, stutter was #1. So I went into this issue. First thing was i had to find a reproducible case and I found one in the Stuka vs shipping mission and debugged. You have 3 guesses on the cause. ...

The cause is that the sim models birds (gulls to be more exact) sitting on the ships and creeking and taking off when the ship is under attack. The "creek" sound is not preloaded (aka cached) in the Rowan system and loading it took so much time that you had a hiccup. First thing I did is create debug tools, most nortable the debug:_stutter and bdg_out features.
Second was the implementation of a generic preloading system which worked by looking at old missions. Third was the smoothening code, which as one option has a simply limit a la CFS3, but also allows more complex dynamic smoothening. Along with some other details, we got the stutter so much under control that quite few people would nowadays say it is their #1 issue. "

The highlighted text means the program builds a "preload" lookup
based on files which have caused delays in previous executions.
So over time, the sim should improve its stutter performance,
getting smarter, as it were.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2016 4:12 pm 
Offline
Airman
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2013 8:31 pm
Posts: 48
Thanks a lot! :)
Best community ever. I love this sim.
Best WW2 combat sim out there in therms of atmosphere.
il2: CloD Team Fusion on a 2nd place under this one :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2016 4:41 pm 
Offline
Airman
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2013 8:31 pm
Posts: 48
I did a re-install of the game.
After uninstalling it I removed everything from battle of britain 2 in the registry.
I installed it on a SSD disk, so I can't defragment the disk (will destroy it).

I runned it once normally to see if everything worked. I could go into the "more gfx" tab and it worked.
But when I copy pasted my 2dGauges, Keyboard and bdg.txt file it crashed when I tried to go into the "more gfx" tab.

You know why this crash occurs? Is some files in 2.13 not compatible?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2016 6:10 pm 
Offline
Airman
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2013 8:31 pm
Posts: 48
Btw, I did a reinstall, and set up all controls over again. took me one hour lol.
But I have no stutters what so ever now. even when I load up the Battle of britain day instant action.

I installed 2.06 version, then the 2.13 with multiskin enabled. No stutters and games runs smooth as silk!

Love your sim! :D


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 19, 2016 10:15 am 
Offline
Senior Airman
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2011 1:50 pm
Posts: 114
hey

Just come back into the forum to check up on what has been happening since, seen the new versions out, downloaded to see the Release Notes and noticed I'm mentioned in there :mrgreen: although was the Hurricane used by S/Lt Jimmie Gardner that had these markings not S/Lt Dickie Cork, at least according to the book that I found the image in. :wink:

Quote:
Added to 242 Squadron Blue 3 Hurricane with 'England Expects' in flag signals as flown by S/Lt Dickie Cork as suggested by Tipsypo.


Although I could not see in the Release Notes there been any work on the robot-esque motions that formations turn and change speed in? As I've always considered formation flying exciting though in BoB was among the very few disappoints in the simulation.

_________________
In the RAF they say an landing's ok, when the pilot gets out and can still walk away.
But in the FAA the prospect is grim, when the landings piss-poor and the pilot can't swim.
Cracking show, I'm Alive, But I've still got to render my A25!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 08, 2016 3:13 pm 
Offline
Airman Basic

Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 8:58 pm
Posts: 4
Location: Enfield, CT USA
I also just downloaded the 2.13 patch and applied it to a fresh virgin install. Once I selected my stick/throttle/rudder pedals - no issues whatsoever. I am still running Windows XP on an older machine, but have the max 3Gb RAM and the best Nvidea card that the machine would handle. Have not actually checked numeric frame rates, but what I see looks great. Now to tweak the details up a bit and see what we get. Thanks again for all the hard work. I truly appreciate it for a flight sim subject that has always been close to my heart.

Mike D.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2016 11:35 pm 
Offline
Airman Basic

Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 8:02 pm
Posts: 4
This is awesome how you all continue to persevere to make a great sim even better! Congratulations!
:)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 21, 2017 7:56 am 
Offline
Airman Basic

Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2017 7:49 am
Posts: 1
Hi all,
Just rediscovered the game after many years.
Have reloaded onto my new Windows 10 desktop with two NVidia 1070 SLI cards.
Uploaded the 2.13 patch...great job folks :D
Program loads smoothly.
Only problem is : when ending a flying mission, it crashes every time I press Alt-X with the error message that people have reported before.
Any solutions found?
Will try reducing ground objects and report back.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Apr 23, 2017 4:54 am 
Offline
Senior Airman
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 9:32 am
Posts: 104
Location: Rayleigh, Essex, England
Hello.
There are issues relating to Windows 10 (I am a windows 7 user). I suggest you have a look at the technical support thread for more information.
Hope you find it helpful and that you're able to enjoy this fantastic Sim.

_________________
"Home and tea. For once you deserve it, well done everybody"


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 39 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group